Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
A good rye bread but I found it needed more caraway. Still toying with the amount but 2 tsp was a minimum for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Dense loaf with good flavor - I should have warmed my water before putting it in the bread machine pan. Will try that next time to see if I get a larger, lighter loaf. Also added more caraway seeds - about 4 times as many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
It was good but i'd rather came out rather dense & wasn't a fan of the molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I did like this recipe! It was very easy to follow. Personally though i did not like the molasses flavor (which i never used in bread before, that;s why i wanted to try) I did make it again though and then used only 'half' a tablespoon of molasses, left out the cocoa and kinda substituted the missing liquid with a little bit more oil and water! Also used a bit more carawayseeds then. I liked it a lot better then, however i'm still messing around with it. Maybe try a bit more salt next time or add yet another flavor! Guess it would turn this into a complete different recipe, though i'm glad to have found it and use it as a base! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanau, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Tasty bread easy to make in the bread maker using the white cycle (mine doesn't have a basic). The bread didn't rise very much which I was surprised given the amount of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Thank you SO much for sharing this with us all!!! I love black rye bread and this is wonderful!! To everybody else who loves rye bread, "Try it, You'll like it " as they say. This is gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIll Sherstobitoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was good but very dense and I only used 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour. It was very good toasted but not really good for sandwiches. Would make a good dip bowl tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
My first time at Rye bread and it turned out very good! Good enough that a lady from Europe (my barber)who was complaining about not being able to get good rye bread here bought some of mine! She also asked for me to make more for here and her family! I did make a couple of small changes. This is for a double batch of dough. I used 3 tsp caraway, added 2 Tbs of vital wheat gluten, and bread flour instead of AP. Next time I will try the AP flour to see what the difference might be. I did the mixing in my Kitchen Aid and then worked it further on the bread board. Let it rise for an hour in a bowl sprayed with Pam and then formed into boules and proofed in floured wicker baskets. Slashed the tops and put on the baking stone for 35 minutes at 375 degrees. I did leave it in a bit longer until the thermometer read 205*. What a wonderful fragrance when they were baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Have made this several times. Not bad but as with other rye home recipes it never has that "bakery" flavor. I ordered rye sour and rye loaf improver from K Arthur flour and added some of both. Definitely adds to the flavor, will have to play a bit more and work out the kinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I won't make again. The crust was too hard even baking it on light in my bread machine. Was more like pumpernickle rather than rye. Too dense and not very moist. I like another user will keep searching for another rye bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States