Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS!! It took about 5 mins of prep work and made my house smell like a bakery! I can't wait to make it again, most of the loaf was gone in one sitting! The only thin I would change is put in 1 tbsp of molasses instead of 2 b/c I found it to be quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
AWESOME! I did not use the caraway seeds since to many people in my family don't like things in their bread. It turned out AWESOME! I am glad I skipped lunch...I'm just eating this~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great tasting rye bread. Wonderful for toasting and having peanut butter. My husband loves rye bread and I got thumbs up with this. It is a little on the heavy side. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made this recipe today in my bread machine and it is fantastic! I didn't have rye flour, so I subbed whole wheat flour and used canola oil instead of vegetable. I also used warm water (didn't get an exact temperature, just warm out of the tap) and used 1 1/2 tsp salt as others suggested. Not sure if it made a difference but I also used 2 1/4 tsp yeast--bought in in bulk--instead of the single use packets I've used before. I followed the instructions for my bread machine and this bread rose more than any other bread I've made! Great taste and texture and was perfect for the Reuben sandwiches that we had for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This bread is fantastic! Great flavor, wonderful texture, beautiful color. The first time I made it I didn't have caraway seeds, but it was still very good. The second time I used the seeds and it was amazing! I will use this recipe at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A dynamite loaf. I used bread machine yeast proofed and doubled the Caraway seeds for flavor... and, a light olive oil instead of "vegetable" oil. I have a hot oven... had to watch it at the end. D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe made a perfect loaf of bread. I followed the directions on the first page of the most helpful reviews because I don't have a bread machine. Next time as a personal preference I will omit the molasses and cocoa powder. Still five-star bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe! The only changes I made were to increase the caraway seed to 1tsp, and I used light olive oil for the vegetable oil. It turned out perfect! My only complaint is that it makes just one loaf... next time I will double the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This bread has wonderfuly flavor and moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was the best rye Bread I ever baked. I added 1/2 cup Buckwheat flour 1 cup wheat flour, to this recipe 1/8 cup salad oil.e beaten egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States