Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A dynamite loaf. I used bread machine yeast proofed and doubled the Caraway seeds for flavor... and, a light olive oil instead of "vegetable" oil. I have a hot oven... had to watch it at the end. D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe made a perfect loaf of bread. I followed the directions on the first page of the most helpful reviews because I don't have a bread machine. Next time as a personal preference I will omit the molasses and cocoa powder. Still five-star bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe! The only changes I made were to increase the caraway seed to 1tsp, and I used light olive oil for the vegetable oil. It turned out perfect! My only complaint is that it makes just one loaf... next time I will double the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This bread has wonderfuly flavor and moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This was the best rye Bread I ever baked. I added 1/2 cup Buckwheat flour 1 cup wheat flour, to this recipe 1/8 cup salad oil.e beaten egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Other reviewers have said that this bread is very dense and heavy. I added a teaspoon of soy lecithin granules and a tablespoon of vital wheat gluten and found that this was not too dense and heavy. It's my new favorite rye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
A good rye bread but I found it needed more caraway. Still toying with the amount but 2 tsp was a minimum for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Dense loaf with good flavor - I should have warmed my water before putting it in the bread machine pan. Will try that next time to see if I get a larger, lighter loaf. Also added more caraway seeds - about 4 times as many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
It was good but i'd rather came out rather dense & wasn't a fan of the molasses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I did like this recipe! It was very easy to follow. Personally though i did not like the molasses flavor (which i never used in bread before, that;s why i wanted to try) I did make it again though and then used only 'half' a tablespoon of molasses, left out the cocoa and kinda substituted the missing liquid with a little bit more oil and water! Also used a bit more carawayseeds then. I liked it a lot better then, however i'm still messing around with it. Maybe try a bit more salt next time or add yet another flavor! Guess it would turn this into a complete different recipe, though i'm glad to have found it and use it as a base! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanau, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States