Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I did NOT like this recipe AT ALL. I have made over 20 different bread machine recipes from scratch and this one was the worst. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Tastes great, just what I was looking for in Rye bread. I substituted the all purpose flour with whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My loaf turned out small and hard. Followed recipe as written. Have yet to find a successful rye bread recipe for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is my second time making this bread. The first time it was too dense and sweet. This time I doubled the recipe. Added 1 extra TBS molasses, cut the sugar in half, added 1 extra TBS cocoa powder and put in 1 TBS caraway seed. Did 5 tsp dry active yeast. I also used bread flour instead of all purpose flour. Kneaded it in my Kitchenaid mixer with the dough hook for 10 minutes until it became stretchy. put it in a greased bowl and let it rise for 1 hour. formed it into rounds and baked at 375 for 45 min. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dday515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Very delicious, will make again. Place ingredients in bread machine, added one extra tsp of caraway seeds. Put on dough cycle and then let bread raise on it's own. Baked 25 minutes at 375 degree's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Bread was wonderful. Great texture and full of flavor. Used whole wheat flour instead of rye and honey instead of molasses. Baked in regular oven 350 50 minutes,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS!! It took about 5 mins of prep work and made my house smell like a bakery! I can't wait to make it again, most of the loaf was gone in one sitting! The only thin I would change is put in 1 tbsp of molasses instead of 2 b/c I found it to be quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
AWESOME! I did not use the caraway seeds since to many people in my family don't like things in their bread. It turned out AWESOME! I am glad I skipped lunch...I'm just eating this~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great tasting rye bread. Wonderful for toasting and having peanut butter. My husband loves rye bread and I got thumbs up with this. It is a little on the heavy side. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made this recipe today in my bread machine and it is fantastic! I didn't have rye flour, so I subbed whole wheat flour and used canola oil instead of vegetable. I also used warm water (didn't get an exact temperature, just warm out of the tap) and used 1 1/2 tsp salt as others suggested. Not sure if it made a difference but I also used 2 1/4 tsp yeast--bought in in bulk--instead of the single use packets I've used before. I followed the instructions for my bread machine and this bread rose more than any other bread I've made! Great taste and texture and was perfect for the Reuben sandwiches that we had for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States