Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Tastes great, just what I was looking for in Rye bread. I substituted the all purpose flour with whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My loaf turned out small and hard. Followed recipe as written. Have yet to find a successful rye bread recipe for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is my second time making this bread. The first time it was too dense and sweet. This time I doubled the recipe. Added 1 extra TBS molasses, cut the sugar in half, added 1 extra TBS cocoa powder and put in 1 TBS caraway seed. Did 5 tsp dry active yeast. I also used bread flour instead of all purpose flour. Kneaded it in my Kitchenaid mixer with the dough hook for 10 minutes until it became stretchy. put it in a greased bowl and let it rise for 1 hour. formed it into rounds and baked at 375 for 45 min. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dday515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Very delicious, will make again. Place ingredients in bread machine, added one extra tsp of caraway seeds. Put on dough cycle and then let bread raise on it's own. Baked 25 minutes at 375 degree's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Bread was wonderful. Great texture and full of flavor. Used whole wheat flour instead of rye and honey instead of molasses. Baked in regular oven 350 50 minutes,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS!! It took about 5 mins of prep work and made my house smell like a bakery! I can't wait to make it again, most of the loaf was gone in one sitting! The only thin I would change is put in 1 tbsp of molasses instead of 2 b/c I found it to be quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
AWESOME! I did not use the caraway seeds since to many people in my family don't like things in their bread. It turned out AWESOME! I am glad I skipped lunch...I'm just eating this~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great tasting rye bread. Wonderful for toasting and having peanut butter. My husband loves rye bread and I got thumbs up with this. It is a little on the heavy side. It is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made this recipe today in my bread machine and it is fantastic! I didn't have rye flour, so I subbed whole wheat flour and used canola oil instead of vegetable. I also used warm water (didn't get an exact temperature, just warm out of the tap) and used 1 1/2 tsp salt as others suggested. Not sure if it made a difference but I also used 2 1/4 tsp yeast--bought in in bulk--instead of the single use packets I've used before. I followed the instructions for my bread machine and this bread rose more than any other bread I've made! Great taste and texture and was perfect for the Reuben sandwiches that we had for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This bread is fantastic! Great flavor, wonderful texture, beautiful color. The first time I made it I didn't have caraway seeds, but it was still very good. The second time I used the seeds and it was amazing! I will use this recipe at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States