Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Delicious and easy, good flavor. I did have to cook it a little longer than the regular bread machine cycle, that may be because of changes I made. I substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat for some of the all purpose flour and added a tsp of gluten, used 1 T of regular sugar and 1 T stevia (did not have brown sugar) and added extra caraway seeds. Used basic setting, light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen M Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moxie
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I wanted a European-style dark rye to satisfy my German family members, and this recipe is exactly what I was looking for - nice flavor and internal texture without having the density of a rock. This bread was heavenly; my first thought was "Rubens!". Minor-ish tweaks: 1) I used the full recipe to make one big loaf, and did not use a bread machine. 2) I followed the ingredients exactly, but added a little bit of extra water because my mixer was struggling with the knead. 3) For the second rise, I shaped the dough into a round loaf, made 3 slashes in the top, dusted with flour, and let it rise on parchment paper in a covered bowl for another hour or so. From here, I used the Dutch Oven method and carefully lifted the parchment and dough into a *preheated* dutch oven, put the lid on, and baked at 425 for 30 minutes. Then I took the lid off and baked it another 10-12 minutes to firm up the crust. The end result was a beautiful artisan loaf. It weighed 1-pound, 14 oz, and reached an internal temp of 205 degrees. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was great! Definitely a keeper. I used 2 tsp of caraway for a stronger flavor. I don't use a bread machine, just my kitchen aid and then bake in the oven at 375 for ~35 min. It made a dense but soft loaf with a great texture for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I used the useful hint from a review (No Bread Machine) Did the yeast in 1/3 cup water 115 degree ....Living in a low humidity state, I turned oven on to 400 --preheat(turn off!!)....set a pan water next to the dough(covered) --- let rise for an hr Took out, punched, divided into 3 small loafs, set on cookie sheet ---let rise for another 40 min(doubled in size) Baked for 15 min...mmmm BTW---No caraway seeds and no Cocoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Great recipe, I added about 1/2 cup caraway seeds and made into oven bread. Definitely keep the flour ratios as is, any more will make it too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Delicious!! I made the dough in the bread machine, then baked it in an oval loaf on a parchment lined baking sheet. Rose nicely. Dense, but not overly dense, for this type of bread. I did add more caraway seeds, and will probably add even more next time. Can't wait to use it for grilled cheese sandwiches! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffness23
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great Bread. It's lightly sweet with a tiny taste of caraway, perfect. I think it is the best bread I've made from AR thus far. But a reminder to those wanting a big, fluffy loaf, rye bread is a dense bread. But seriously, it is sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I loved this bread. It was a bit sweeter than I would prefer, but lovely and moist. I took the advice of another reviewer and doubled the recipe - only to start panicking that it might be too large a loaf for my machine! I needn't have worried as it came out beautifully - a large loaf, certainly, but quite delicious. I only used half the amount of brown sugar mentioned, so will try less molasses next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Dry and hard. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
i did not care for this. the bread did not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States