Dark Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This bread was nothing that I would call rye bread. It was more like a sweet brown bread of some sort. I will not be making this again. I made it for reubens and we were sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I was looking for a rye bread on which to make cucumber sandwiches and I really like this one. I started it in the bread maker on the dough cycle then put it in a pan to rise a bit before baking it. I baked it at 375 as one reviewer suggested. I used a mini loaf pan and baked for 30 mins. The only thing I did differently after making the first loaf was add more caraway seeds because they are so scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Lovely bread! Made as written and gone before it even was completely cold! The cocoa powder is a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This bread was amazing! I chose to make it by hand and had to add about another 1/8 cup of water to get the dough to work. All I had was bead molasses so I cut the sugar down to 1.5 tbsps. We LOVE caraway so I did 4 tsps. I formed a round rustic loaf and cut slashes in the top. My husband and I ate half the round for dinner with a cabbage/lentil/ham based soup and it was delicious. It took about an hour to rise. I sat the pan on a cooling rack atop my toaster oven while baking something else. I baked it at 375 for 50 minutes. If making by hand proofing your yeast with the sugar, molasses and WARM water is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was WAY too sweet. It was also very dense. It did not raise properly despite using good yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasonFromCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byers, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Awesome Bread,goes well with my sauerkraut soup... Very easy to make and the testure is awesome...Moist yet firm. I used some fresh dill seeds in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've declared this a fail-proof recipe! I don't have a bread machine so I made this by hand. Yeast and I have never been great friends, and I thought I failed after my dough didn't really rise after an hour...however, during the second rising, it came to life to produce delicious bread! Only 4 stars because it was a little sweeter than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Nice mild tasting rye bread. Would double caraway seed next time, though. Made me crave pastrami or corned beef and hot mustard sandwiches with dill pickles. Baked 40 minutes at 360. Made one lovely round loaf on the pizza stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
loved this bread. Did it by hand and let it rise till doubled in size(about 2 hours). Baked it in a cast iron dutch oven, warmed cast iron in oven. Baked covered for 30 minutes and uncovered for the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Does taste of rye. However, this recipe's liquid to flour ratio is way off, and yielded a heavy, thick, and dense crumb. Very unpleasant. The yeast couldn't even make proper cells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States