Dark Guinness® Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
They were perfect! I added half a bag of Heathbar Crunch, but didn't notice them that much. I used a 9x9 pan. They were very thick, and took longer to cook, but were delicious. I also butter my pans, and use white sugar to dusk, instead of flour. It gives a sweeter, crunchier, more pleasing result than the taste of flour. They were more of a cake than a fudgier brownie, but he loved them, and they were for him. They are very rich with the additional chocolate chips on top. Again, I would do them without it, but "he" prefers them this way. It is nice to make something that comes out exactly as you had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Freedman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
WOW, these are AWESOME!!!!!! I omitted the nuts and stirred the chocolate chips right into the batter (I used mini choco chips). Fudgy, moist, rich and just plain delicious...I will def be making these again and again~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
These brownies took a while to make, but they were delicious and had a unique texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reyroxx97
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe is so quick and easy! The brownies came out great! They are very rich and moist. I made a few changes due to lack of ingredients such as: using milk instead of beer, using walnuts instead of pecans, microwaving the butter and chocolate mixture, and not adding chocolate chips on top. I had to bake it for around 45-50 minutes instead, but it tastes absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great recipe! Unlike a lot of recipes with alcohol, I could actually taste the beer in these brownies and the flavor wasn't overwhelming. Changes: I cut the sugar down by 1/4 cup (I generally do this in recipes); used Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips instead of chopping 8 oz; and melted the chocolate in the microwave for 1 min, stirred, then 20 seconds more in the mic instead of the double boiler. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I will mix the semisweet chocolate chips in so that there can be gooey chocolate bits throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made these this afternoon for a potluck, and they were devoured! I forgot to add the chocolate chips on top, but that didn't matter. For the powdered sugar, I put about 1/4 cup in a strainer, then tapped the strainer over the brownies to make a nice topping. Due to allergies, I left out the nuts. They weren't gooey at all, and they're more of a cake-like texture. The kids want me to make them again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
These were good and rich and gooey brownies. We had just the right amount of leftover Rogue Double Chocolate Stout for this recipe. We could taste the beer, but the flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reardan, Washington, USA
Living In: Ritzville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These brownies were outstanding! Everyone at our family get together was raving about them! The texture is not that of a traditional brownie- they were very light and silky, almost mousse like. I think the beer cut down on the sugar as these weren't overly sweet, just a nice balance of sweetness. I will definitely be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
It's not an every day brownie, but it is worth it for special occasions when you want something a little special. I couldn't taste the beer at all. Mostly you will just taste chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Super sweet, super rich fudgy brownies! The chocolate seems strong enough that the beer taste doesn't show up as strong as thought it might. When nothing but a chocolate fix will do, these are definitely the thing to serve! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States