Dark German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
The title, at least for me, was misleading. I guess I have a completely different notion of what German Chocolate Cake is, so when I decided to try this unrated, unreviewed recipe, I focused on the "dark" in the title as well as the fact that the recipe called for a significant amount of cocoa. As this recipe's first reviewer, I prepared it exactly as written - no substituting coffee for the water, or any other changes, additions or substitutions. What a cake. A perfect, moist, deep, dark chocolate cake. Have you tried and loved the top-rated chocolate cake recipes from this site? This is right up there. (I made half a recipe into 18 cupcakes, baked at 19 minutes - pitch black, they were perfect for Halloween decorations!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pam M
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Im a Chocoholic at heart..and Oh My Gosh, this recipe does not dissapoint, it is fantastic! I decided to make cupcakes, this recipe made approx 44 regular sized cupcakes, filled 2/3 full. I did not change a thing ingredient wise. Very moist and delicious! I Piped around the outer edge with the Creamy Chocolate frosting recipe from this site and pipped a dollup of coconut/pecan German Chocolate frosting in the middle on top. Topped each cupcake off with a candied pecan piece and a drizzle of Chocolate ganache. Took 3 dozen to work for a bake sale and these recieved RAVE reviews from everyone! Thank you keklang for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
In my humble opinion, a just-about-perfect chocolate cake. Tasty with or without frosting. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Thoroughly impressed. I'm an avid baker with staple chocolate cake recipes that I've used throughout the years. I thought I'd try something different, and based on the reviews, this recipe was worth a test. It's not the traditional "German" chocolate cake, which is a very mild-tasting chocolate. This cake has a true, deep and dark color, along with a rich (but not overpowering) chocolate taste. After mixing everything, the batter was extremely thin --- so thin that I re-traced the entire recipe to make sure I had used the correct amount of dry ingredients. It was right. I thought: "Well, here goes. Let's see if it rises." It baked true to form and the texture is superb. I did not make a 14x17-inch cake. Instead, I made two 9-inch cakes and two 8-inch cakes with this batter (perfect amount). I'll freeze two cakes for use at a later date. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carollynna2
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This recipe makes an amazing, rich, dark, and very "chocolately" cake! Love it...it's the only one I use now. Beware that it fully doubles in the oven, so only fill cupcake or layer pans 1/2 full. It makes a lot, so you can get three 9-inch layers out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was fantastic, I topped it with whipped cream and cream cheese, then put a tin of black cherries and grated chocolate on top. mmmmmmmmm like a black forest cake. made it for a farewell for 20 people and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Definitely not a german chocolate cake, but despite this, it is most certainly the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I love it, I make it as cakes or cupcakes. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I am usually a horrible baker. But i followed these simple directions and it produced the most rich ad moist chocolate cake i have ever had. The batter may seem too runny and it may take a little longer to bake but it turns out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
moist and delishious. The title was a bit misleading because it's a "German chocolate cake" so i expected a normal chocolate cake. What a wonderful surprise when I bit into this cake! Moist, flavorful, chocolatey. This recipe is worth baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Delicious! I made half this recipe and half of another for cupcakes. These are so moist and delicious! I made them for a Birthday Party, but since it's almost Halloween, I decorated with Halloween/Fall decorations! I came out with 17 cupcakes (filled 'almost' to the top) and they baked for about 20-22 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States