Dark German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
The title, at least for me, was misleading. I guess I have a completely different notion of what German Chocolate Cake is, so when I decided to try this unrated, unreviewed recipe, I focused on the "dark" in the title as well as the fact that the recipe called for a significant amount of cocoa. As this recipe's first reviewer, I prepared it exactly as written - no substituting coffee for the water, or any other changes, additions or substitutions. What a cake. A perfect, moist, deep, dark chocolate cake. Have you tried and loved the top-rated chocolate cake recipes from this site? This is right up there. (I made half a recipe into 18 cupcakes, baked at 19 minutes - pitch black, they were perfect for Halloween decorations!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
moist and delishious. The title was a bit misleading because it's a "German chocolate cake" so i expected a normal chocolate cake. What a wonderful surprise when I bit into this cake! Moist, flavorful, chocolatey. This recipe is worth baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Pam M
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Im a Chocoholic at heart..and Oh My Gosh, this recipe does not dissapoint, it is fantastic! I decided to make cupcakes, this recipe made approx 44 regular sized cupcakes, filled 2/3 full. I did not change a thing ingredient wise. Very moist and delicious! I Piped around the outer edge with the Creamy Chocolate frosting recipe from this site and pipped a dollup of coconut/pecan German Chocolate frosting in the middle on top. Topped each cupcake off with a candied pecan piece and a drizzle of Chocolate ganache. Took 3 dozen to work for a bake sale and these recieved RAVE reviews from everyone! Thank you keklang for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This recipe creates a very moist and fluffy cake, but would definitely benefit from replacing the hot water with coffee instead. While tasty on its own, the cake does come out rather flat. It didn't sink, but it didn't exactly rise the way I expected it to, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coffee&Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Although the cake was amazingly moist and very delicious, this recipe is not conducive to high elevation cooking. The cupcakes overflowed the cups and were hollow inside and the cake imploded. The whole middle of the cake just caved in. I recommend reducing the amount of milk, water and vegetable oil if you're going to cook this cake at higher elevations i.e. Denver/Boulder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Wonderful. I could not be more pleased with this cake. So good. I made eighteen cupcakes and one 10 X 15 sheet cake. I've never used a mixer to whisk dry ingredients and suspected that they would fly all over me and the kitchen, but I did it, and they didn't! BUT...I have a KitchenAid, with a deep bowl and the specified whisk attachment. Not sure I would try that with a regular mixing bowl and hand-held mixer. I used the frosting from Cinnamon Mocha Sheet Cake submitted by hobbyzu. (I did decrease the cinnamon by one-half as my cinnamon seems to be really strong.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by carollynna2
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This recipe makes an amazing, rich, dark, and very "chocolately" cake! Love it...it's the only one I use now. Beware that it fully doubles in the oven, so only fill cupcake or layer pans 1/2 full. It makes a lot, so you can get three 9-inch layers out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was fantastic, I topped it with whipped cream and cream cheese, then put a tin of black cherries and grated chocolate on top. mmmmmmmmm like a black forest cake. made it for a farewell for 20 people and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Delicious! I made half this recipe and half of another for cupcakes. These are so moist and delicious! I made them for a Birthday Party, but since it's almost Halloween, I decorated with Halloween/Fall decorations! I came out with 17 cupcakes (filled 'almost' to the top) and they baked for about 20-22 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Definitely not a german chocolate cake, but despite this, it is most certainly the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I love it, I make it as cakes or cupcakes. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States