Dark German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This cake is BOMB!!!! Rises beautifully. Layers freeze very well (though because of how moist it is...I suggest lining both sides with wax paper and then wrap thoroughly in plastic wrap). Yes...this IS..my new go to chocolate cake. And I am giving five stars on both the original recipe as listed here (used first for my supervisors birthday cake I made for him) as well as my second making. My alts were: using 2 tbsp of black cocoa powder for 'depth' & 1 cup of regular cocoa (both Hershey) and 1/2 cup of Kahlua 'infused' coffee and 1 cup of water. Everyone needs this cake in their life. GOD BLESS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Wonderful. I could not be more pleased with this cake. So good. I made eighteen cupcakes and one 10 X 15 sheet cake. I've never used a mixer to whisk dry ingredients and suspected that they would fly all over me and the kitchen, but I did it, and they didn't! BUT...I have a KitchenAid, with a deep bowl and the specified whisk attachment. Not sure I would try that with a regular mixing bowl and hand-held mixer. I used the frosting from Cinnamon Mocha Sheet Cake submitted by hobbyzu. (I did decrease the cinnamon by one-half as my cinnamon seems to be really strong.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a great dark chocolate cake—not too sweet, decently chocolate-y, and nice and moist, especially right out of the oven. Mine was perfectly done in 25 min. I suggest frosting it with a cinnamon buttercream frosting, or having a slice à la mode with a scoop of vanilla or cookies and cream ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
In my humble opinion, a just-about-perfect chocolate cake. Tasty with or without frosting. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I am usually a horrible baker. But i followed these simple directions and it produced the most rich ad moist chocolate cake i have ever had. The batter may seem too runny and it may take a little longer to bake but it turns out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Thoroughly impressed. I'm an avid baker with staple chocolate cake recipes that I've used throughout the years. I thought I'd try something different, and based on the reviews, this recipe was worth a test. It's not the traditional "German" chocolate cake, which is a very mild-tasting chocolate. This cake has a true, deep and dark color, along with a rich (but not overpowering) chocolate taste. After mixing everything, the batter was extremely thin --- so thin that I re-traced the entire recipe to make sure I had used the correct amount of dry ingredients. It was right. I thought: "Well, here goes. Let's see if it rises." It baked true to form and the texture is superb. I did not make a 14x17-inch cake. Instead, I made two 9-inch cakes and two 8-inch cakes with this batter (perfect amount). I'll freeze two cakes for use at a later date. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Definitely not a german chocolate cake, but despite this, it is most certainly the best chocolate cake I have ever made! I love it, I make it as cakes or cupcakes. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carollynna2
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This recipe makes an amazing, rich, dark, and very "chocolately" cake! Love it...it's the only one I use now. Beware that it fully doubles in the oven, so only fill cupcake or layer pans 1/2 full. It makes a lot, so you can get three 9-inch layers out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
HIGH ELEVATIONER'S PAY ATTENTION! You need to cut down the amount of water you put into this recipe and add more flour. Otherwise they will sink in the center and flow over the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This cake is perfect for chocolate lovers!! It's tasty on its own and simply...so chocolatey!! =) Even people who are hard to please will nod their heads approvingly at this recipe ;)so go ahead..try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kandy, Central, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States