Dark Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Excellent! I placed a pistachio nut in miniature cupcake wraps then filled with chocolate mixture, topped with another nut. Next time I'll use almonds on top and almond extract in the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I have never made truffles before and these were so EASY to make. Instead of putting the mixture in the fridge for 20 minutes, I actually put it in the freezer to speed the process up just a bit. After I put the toppings on (Coconut, Cocoa and sprinkles) I placed on parchment paper and put in a container in the freezer. I received rave reviews from my co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
These were good, but I preferred the firmer consistency of the "Basic Truffles" recipe on this site, which only calls for 1/3 C cream. These truffles were too creamy for my personal preference; this recipe might work better as the creamy filling inside a harder chocolate rather than a standalone ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I rolled these in coconut and they were fantastic. Do make sure you keep them in the fridge to keep their flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Follow the directions and these will turn out AMAZING. Don't let them harden too much in the fridge after you drop them on wax paper or you'll have to let them warm up a bit before rolling them into balls. They're a little bit messy to roll but it's worth it. I used walnuts and coconut. Next time I want to roll them in crushed toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
So easy and very rich and it got raves. But you gotta love choclate!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
So, so good!!!! Thought I'd try "Fat Free Half & Half" & it worked!!!! Less fat, more to eat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was very easy to make and super delish. The issue I had was that these were way too soft for a stand alone truffle. I had to freeze them to get them to a consistency I could handle. I ended up dipping them in a dipping chocolate and rolling them in toasted coconut and hazelnuts. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These were well liked, but they were a little of a pain to make. After the first 20 minutes, the chocolate just plopped on the bake sheet and flattened out, so I would let it set in the fridge longer. After the second sitting period, the chocolate was too soft to roll and made a mess on my hands. I would extend each setting time to 30+ minutes. I topped some with unsweetened cocoa powder, some with sugar sprinkles, others with chopped pistachios or toasted coconut. I think they would be better as a filling with a harder chocolate coating, then topped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Made assorted coatings. Cocoa powder, powdered sugar, toasted nuts and toasted coconut flakes. Again, my husband thought these were store bought. Placed them in small foil bakers for a pretty presentation. Messy to make but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States