Dark Chocolate Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kellidd
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family and my followers. I used a box cake mix and a few add ins but it was moist and delicious! You can find my tutorial here:http://kellisretrokitchenarts.wordpress.com/2012/12/20/orange-cake-w-dark-chocolate-ganache/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Archangel
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I went ahead and made this cake without reading the reviews, but I did pay special attention to the DO NOT overmix instructions and (after I had read the reviews) the baking time, which I shortened by 10 minutes. Substitutions I made to the recipe were the following: Duck eggs instead of chicken eggs, and 2/3 cup of mayonnaise, rather than sour cream. When finished, I glazed the underside of the cake with a mixture of confectioner's sugar, orange juice and vanilla. I then plated and turned the cake over, and drizzled on a chocolate ganache. Finished with some orange slices, that I slightly poached in Southern Comfort, I think this cake is going to be a HUGE success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Archangel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This cake is very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
When the recipe said dry - it meant dry! I made it for an office event and everyone agreed it was awful. It was so dry it was like eating biscotti. It is a must to have coffee to dip the cake in because it's so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This cake is always a great addition to our meals. It's also very easy to make some variations for your tastes - I make is a 2 layer cake and add more orange zest between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Nice cake, very good. Didn't have all the ingredients, so I played it by ear... I put more orange in, and the result is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
A lovely, dense coffee style cake, it was easy to make and tasted delicious. A semi-sweet chocolate glaze with more almonds sprinkled on top tarts it up sufficiently to meet the approval of even the most discriminating koffee klatch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States