Dark Chocolate Candy Cane Crackles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
i loved these cookies! i made them with my nephew's help for christmas to give away. i had a little trouble crushing the peppermint candies (i didn't have candy canes). i ended up making a big mess and broke my little chopper. anyway i loved the texture. they were chewy with a little crunch. i loved them and they were a hit with the kids. i only gave it 4 stars because some of the people i gave them to didn't like them. will do them for the holidays next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made these for Christmas this year - although I found Andes Candy peppermint baking chips at the store and used those instead of candy canes. I tell you, what a hit these were! Thanks for such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Delicious cookie!! Tastes like thin mint Girl Scout cookies but better. I substituted semi sweet chocolate chips for chocolate pieces. Since I was scared of sticking, I greased the cookie sheet with butter flavored Crisco & flipped dough over after smushing each ball. I also shortened the cooking time to 8 1/2 minutes and let them set on the pan for 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack. Nothing stuck and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
made these for santa xmas eve with the help of my 7y/o. they turned out very good, a little crispier than i like in a cookie, but i think that's the way the're supposed to. (crackles). great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Our family had all these candy canes and I wanted to use them up and so I tried out this recipe. We now have a new addition to our Christmas cookie repertoire. Everyone loved them. Two bits of advice: 1)your cookies will be much nicer looking if you really cream the butter and sugar until very light and fluffy. I also cooked these for only 9 minutes - when cooked for 10, the chocolate took on a bitter taste. There cookies were really excellent and easy to make. The kids loved smashing up the candy canes and breaking the chocolate into chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
very easy to make and yummy. If you don't have a silicone pad use parchment paper. It works just as well. I also used the big pieces of candy canes to put on top of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rippe Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I will definitely be making these again! Everyone loved them! I used 'Special Dark' Cocoa Powder, so the cookies almost looked black when retrieving them from the oven. Parchment prevented sticking, and I cooked one minute less than suggested. I prefer my cookies chewy, not crunchy. These have become a permanent part of my Christmas cookie repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
these are really good. instead of chocolate chips though, i used 1 cup Andes mint chips and only 2 crushed candy canes. There was only 30 cookies made though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These cookies turned out too hard/chewy. You have to be very careful when biting in to them. I made them for a Christmas party but was worried about serving them so threw them away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This cookie is my new favorite holiday treat! It is so yummy, my only suggestion is to let them col on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes then move them to your cooling tray so they won't stick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States