Dark Chocolate Candy Cane Crackles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
i loved these cookies! i made them with my nephew's help for christmas to give away. i had a little trouble crushing the peppermint candies (i didn't have candy canes). i ended up making a big mess and broke my little chopper. anyway i loved the texture. they were chewy with a little crunch. i loved them and they were a hit with the kids. i only gave it 4 stars because some of the people i gave them to didn't like them. will do them for the holidays next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made these for Christmas this year - although I found Andes Candy peppermint baking chips at the store and used those instead of candy canes. I tell you, what a hit these were! Thanks for such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Delicious cookie!! Tastes like thin mint Girl Scout cookies but better. I substituted semi sweet chocolate chips for chocolate pieces. Since I was scared of sticking, I greased the cookie sheet with butter flavored Crisco & flipped dough over after smushing each ball. I also shortened the cooking time to 8 1/2 minutes and let them set on the pan for 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack. Nothing stuck and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
made these for santa xmas eve with the help of my 7y/o. they turned out very good, a little crispier than i like in a cookie, but i think that's the way the're supposed to. (crackles). great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Our family had all these candy canes and I wanted to use them up and so I tried out this recipe. We now have a new addition to our Christmas cookie repertoire. Everyone loved them. Two bits of advice: 1)your cookies will be much nicer looking if you really cream the butter and sugar until very light and fluffy. I also cooked these for only 9 minutes - when cooked for 10, the chocolate took on a bitter taste. There cookies were really excellent and easy to make. The kids loved smashing up the candy canes and breaking the chocolate into chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
very easy to make and yummy. If you don't have a silicone pad use parchment paper. It works just as well. I also used the big pieces of candy canes to put on top of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I will definitely be making these again! Everyone loved them! I used 'Special Dark' Cocoa Powder, so the cookies almost looked black when retrieving them from the oven. Parchment prevented sticking, and I cooked one minute less than suggested. I prefer my cookies chewy, not crunchy. These have become a permanent part of my Christmas cookie repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
these are really good. instead of chocolate chips though, i used 1 cup Andes mint chips and only 2 crushed candy canes. There was only 30 cookies made though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These cookies turned out too hard/chewy. You have to be very careful when biting in to them. I made them for a Christmas party but was worried about serving them so threw them away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This cookie is my new favorite holiday treat! It is so yummy, my only suggestion is to let them col on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes then move them to your cooling tray so they won't stick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States