Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
A really delicious cake, though next time I would maybe add a few tablespoons more of cocoa, but that is personal preference. Its has just the right amount of sugar where if you add icing its isn't too much. In summary it is very moist cake and has a rich chocolate flavour, and I would recommend trying it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ratatouille22

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is excellent! I have used it over and over, and I always get rave reviews on the rich flavor of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yes, for what it is, this is a 5-Star recipe--but it's not a one-bowl recipe! I'm surprised that no one knows the purpose of the vinegar. It's to sour the milk. You put the vinegar in a glass measuring cup and then fill with milk to to the 1 cup line. Then wait 15 to 25 minutes until the milk shows signs of souring (curdling). This is a time-honored method of inexpensively adding flavor and richness to baked goods. Buttermilk can't match it. I remember years ago, learning to cook in my mother's kitchen and scoffing at her old-timey farm-raised ideas. I used buttermilk instead of soured milk in my dad's favorite Coconut Raisin Cookies and had to listen to him tell how I just couldn't match my mom for making good cookies. I went right back to the sour milk! The Farm Journal Test Kitchens supported my findings, too. The other item I would mention is DON'T FORGET THE VANILLA! No chocolate cake is ever complete without vanilla. Yes, the coffee (I use espresso) brings out the rich, deep flavor notes of the chocolate, but the vanilla highlights the "flowery," sweet notes. To achieve the full depth and range of chocolate flavor, you need the vanilla. Then, when you smother this complex, delicious cake with a sweet frosting, you will have a truly complete chocolate experience. I chop this cake into serving-sized cubes and freeze them in squares of plastic wrap. Perfect treats at a moment's notice! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This made excellent cupcakes. The recipe made 28 cupcakes and I baked them for 20 minutes exactly. Let sit in the cupcake tins for about 10 minutes and then removed to a baking rack to cool completely. Frosted with the Peanut Butter Frosting from AR and they were a hit at a work potluck! Thanks so much for posting this easy, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
SUPER moist cake. I let it sit overnight before frosting or I think it would have ripped. But so delicious and EASY, it was worth it. Made it with two round cake pans and cooked for 25 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Fantastic cake! Very easy to make and soooo moist! From now on, this is the recipe I will use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Tasty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I have been married for 20 years and this is the best cake I have ever made. My kids raved that it tastes just like Hostess. I had a carton of sour milk that i didn't want to throw away, so substituted 2 cups of that for the coffee, milk and vinegar. Frosted it with old-fashioned frosting recipe (flour-based) because I didn't have any powdered sugar. Seriously, the best cake I have ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I have always had a weakness for a good dark chocolate cake. This one takes the cake!!! It came out perfect each time I made it. I used Ghiradelli dark cocoa and it was great. Topped it with a white chocolate ganache. with dark chocolate shaving and I've been getting request for more ever since. It is by far the easiest and best tasting dark chocolate cake I've ever used. Thanks a million
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Perfect recipe with no modifications. I baked it in a bundt pan and frosted with a chocolate cream cheese icing. Will make another later this week and try a different frosting so I have an excuse to present another cake to the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States