Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great things can come with easy recipes. 5 stars for the big bang of chocolate! Use a good powdered cocoa. I doubled this recipe in case because I had a feeling it would be good. Baked it in 2 small 9' round cake pans. Very moist and the height was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Everyone seems to like this cake. I think it's okay--could be more...distinctive tasting? But it's a crowdpleaser nonetheless. Also--I made this into mini-muffins once and they stuck to the pan horribly. Use liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Delicious, I made this cake as written with the chocolate frosting recipe on the cocoa can. My husband and the rest of our family loved it and craved it still after it was gone. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Breton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Fantastic! Made (almost) exactly as directed, just made it non-dairy by using soy milk. Moist, rich but not too heavy, classic chocolate cake. I also loved how quickly it came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Worst cook ever
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Tried it twice, turned out quite nice both times. It's a great recipe to have for a quick no-fuss, minimal- mess cake. It does taste like boxed cake mix, but it's also not more of a hassle to make than box mix, you can tweak it easily to satisfy your tastes and you know exactly what's in it. I don't get the reviewers raving like crazy about the taste, though; it's not bad by any means, especially for a one-bowl cake, but you can tell there's no actual chocolate in it (cocoa butter is irreplaceable).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This recipe helped me make the best cupcakes of my life! I only added an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa (i used hershey's dark cocoa powder) and when they finished baking I scooped out the centers and stuffed them with cherries. "Dark Chocolate Covered Cherry cupcakes". :) I also made homemade dark chocolate whipped cream for frosting and topped with sprinkles! Everyone RAVED! I will be keeping this recipe. Mmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Loved it!! Took it to the Office & it was a big hit. Used Cool whip cream cheese frosting So simple & easy. Will make this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Oh my heavenly chocolate!! I made cupcakes using this recipe with one small change. I mixed the vinegar and milk then let it sit for about 5 minutes before mixing in. I do this with pancakes too! These are delicious without anything on it, vanilla buttercream only makes it more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Athar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I found this very easy to make, it was moist and tasted very good. I added this one to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was a great cake. It was rich with chocolate flavor, but not too sweet. I am already planning on using this for my husband's birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States