Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This really is a VERY easy recipe - I made it exactly as shown, and it came out super-moist, with a great, not-too-sweet chocolate flavor. Topped it with powdered sugar. The only variation was that with my oven, it took a few minutes longer baking, but came out great. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I was very excited to try this recipe but I found it fell short. I followed the recipe exactly as described and I did get a super moist spongy cake, however there was no flavour to it. It seems like all the ingredients cancelled each other out and it tasted like nothing. I usually like a rich cocoa flavour, but this cake just left a sugary aftertaste. The only way to give this cake flavour is to add frosting to it, which I am not a fan of. Disappointed:-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This cake was FABULOUS!! Very rich and moist ... And still that moist 3 days later! The only item of note is that I used 2% milk as that is what I had on hand at home. Very easy to make. I topped it with a chocolate ganache drizzle. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very good cake and vert easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
OMG!!! I followed this recipe exactly as written. This is the only time I'll review a recipe, since I think it's the only way to give it an accurate assessment. I was actually a little concerned that I uses 1% milk, but it's the only kind we buy. Let me say this is the best chocolate cake I have ever tasted. I will never buy a chocolate cake mix again. The cake didn't fall, I was very careful not to bump the cake pan and, as another reviewer suggested, I didn't pull out the rack when I tested it. I used a dark 9x13 pan so set the timer at 30 minutes instead of 35. Touched the cake at the front end, it bounced back. Then I inserted a toothpick in the middle, and it came out dry. I immediately removed the cake very carefully (I surely didn't want it to fall). Another thing, I wasn't sure if I should use a mixer, so after I stirred all the dry ingredients in the large bowl with a whisk to make sure it was all blended, added the rest of the ingredients (liquid) and proceeded to mix it with the whisk. After it was thoroughly blended I counted 50 strokes then poured into my pan which was sprayed with non-stick spray. This is the moistest, tastiest, easiest cake to make and will forever be my go to chocolate cake. I frosted it with the white frosting I've made all my life. Just confectioner's sugar, a little butter, capful of vanilla and milk. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Loved it! I did add a little extra cocoa, as some of the reviews stated. My family loved it. I covered it with a generous layer of mocha frosting and then topped that with a dark chocolate ganache.....it was decadent! A chocoholics dream! I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I couldn't imagine trying it out until l viewed your recipe and tried it out.It was wow! wow!. Thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
My daughter made this for 4-H fair and she got 1st place.She was very happy.She added a little vanilla and used buttermilk instead of the vinegar and milk.The family enjoyed eating the rest of the cake.As for the mom ,I cant bake a cake,I have tryed for many years and they wont turn out.Just made this one again and even I had no problems.Its nice that it is a one bowl recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Perfect. Just as it said, except I used 1 cup cocoa instead. So easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is the best chocolate cake recipe I have ever tried; super moist and fluffy! I used the recipe as is, only I made cupcakes with it. It made about 3 dozen cupcakes! I used a basic cream cheese frosting recipe but added a tsp. of peppermint extract to it. The chocolate and mint is an awesome combination! I'll never use another chocolate cake recipe ever again! This is now my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States