Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Best cake recipe I have tried. It's a huge hit with the family. So don't be afraid to use this recipe for the first time if you have an event
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was good, insanely good. Everyone was raving about it. I made this recipe exactly as written. Used a cream cheese frosting from this site and added a little bittersweet coco to it. Yummy. Also love that this is one bowl! Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This cake is simply divine! The only thing I did differently is mix the dry and wet ingredients separately, then combined them. (old school):-) I'm sure it would have also turned out nicely by mixing it as directed. Super moist and delicious! What a cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This really is a VERY easy recipe - I made it exactly as shown, and it came out super-moist, with a great, not-too-sweet chocolate flavor. Topped it with powdered sugar. The only variation was that with my oven, it took a few minutes longer baking, but came out great. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I was very excited to try this recipe but I found it fell short. I followed the recipe exactly as described and I did get a super moist spongy cake, however there was no flavour to it. It seems like all the ingredients cancelled each other out and it tasted like nothing. I usually like a rich cocoa flavour, but this cake just left a sugary aftertaste. The only way to give this cake flavour is to add frosting to it, which I am not a fan of. Disappointed:-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This cake was FABULOUS!! Very rich and moist ... And still that moist 3 days later! The only item of note is that I used 2% milk as that is what I had on hand at home. Very easy to make. I topped it with a chocolate ganache drizzle. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very good cake and vert easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
OMG!!! I followed this recipe exactly as written. This is the only time I'll review a recipe, since I think it's the only way to give it an accurate assessment. I was actually a little concerned that I uses 1% milk, but it's the only kind we buy. Let me say this is the best chocolate cake I have ever tasted. I will never buy a chocolate cake mix again. The cake didn't fall, I was very careful not to bump the cake pan and, as another reviewer suggested, I didn't pull out the rack when I tested it. I used a dark 9x13 pan so set the timer at 30 minutes instead of 35. Touched the cake at the front end, it bounced back. Then I inserted a toothpick in the middle, and it came out dry. I immediately removed the cake very carefully (I surely didn't want it to fall). Another thing, I wasn't sure if I should use a mixer, so after I stirred all the dry ingredients in the large bowl with a whisk to make sure it was all blended, added the rest of the ingredients (liquid) and proceeded to mix it with the whisk. After it was thoroughly blended I counted 50 strokes then poured into my pan which was sprayed with non-stick spray. This is the moistest, tastiest, easiest cake to make and will forever be my go to chocolate cake. I frosted it with the white frosting I've made all my life. Just confectioner's sugar, a little butter, capful of vanilla and milk. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Loved it! I did add a little extra cocoa, as some of the reviews stated. My family loved it. I covered it with a generous layer of mocha frosting and then topped that with a dark chocolate ganache.....it was decadent! A chocoholics dream! I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I couldn't imagine trying it out until l viewed your recipe and tried it out.It was wow! wow!. Thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States