Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Wow! I made this cake with a strawberry cream cheese frosting and everyone loved it! I would definately use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
very similar to the recipe i use making black bottom cupcakes. I'll try it tomorrow in a bundt pan and use a peanut butter frosting by request. When in my experimenting mode I might even try to modify the cream cheese filling for the cupcakes to add PB, reduce CC.....will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This cake is amazing! It was simple to make, didn't require a lot of fancy ingredients, and tastes phenomenal. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is flat out the absolute best chocolate cake recipe ever. I have used for cupcakes, sheet cakes, tall stacked birthday cakes, and a three tier wedding cake. It is moist, dense and tastes exactly like you hope chocolate cake will. I've experimented with adding accent flavors by using almond extract, orange rind and cointreau and espresso powder. All were divine. Since this cake is so moist, it stays fresh and delicious much longer than you'd expect. I have this cake recipe burned into my memory and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheba7000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Extremely tasty; moist; perfect! Can't wait to make again. I use a chocolate frosting recipe from this website and will not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrshimon4
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Whoops! I should have stayed in bed today. Ever have one of those days? I was late for an appointment and then came home to make cupcakes and used Ground Chocolate with Cocoa instead of Unsweetened Cocoa. Simple mistake, always a good idea to pay attention and read labels. The batter is runny but it was great for pouring cupcakes...although it seems that I've forgotten what 2/3 of a cup is and filled the cups to 3/4. Like I said, there just those days when anything technical or having to do with numbers and simplistic abilities should be avoided. All that said, the cupcakes are marvelous! What a good recipe, to be able to recover from accidents and perform so well. Maybe it was just too easy? I did mix the wet ingredients in a separate bowl and then added to dry. Did not use a mixer, just a hand whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teppa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used skim milk, and this turned out pretty good. Will try adding chocolate chips next time. Used instant coffee, and all milk, no water. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made this with a to die for peanut butter frosting that tasted just like reese's pieces. Perfect combination! Awesome cake! And its one-bowl! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Perfect in every way! I paired this with Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting (by Jo-Lynn from this site), and it made for a striking presentation with the dark chocolate cake and the white frosting...also perfect because it was just the right amount of sweetness in both the cake and frosting. I made two 9-inch round cakes with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
wow! rich, flavorful, just like Grandma Snoen used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States