Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is my new favorite chocolate cake recipe. It is very chocolatey and not too sweet. I made the this exactly as the recipe said, something I almost never do! I filled with whipped ganache and covered in liquid ganace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was so easy and one of my favorites on this site. Be warned the batter is very watery but cooks up great. The cake is much better the next day and I put some cream cheese frosting on it. I changed nothing because it is good as it is....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I baked three cakes today using this recipe. My only variation was to add a tablespoon of instant espresso to boost the dark chocolate flavor. It made a nice sturdy cake to split and fill. I baked two in 9 by 13 inch pans to make a black forest cake to take to church and the third I have baked in 9 inch round layers to frost for my son's birthday. I used my stand mixer, mixed the dry ingredients first and then added the wet all at once. A great cake with big flavor that you can work with. I wil make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
It's delicious. And quick to put together. I can not think of any improvement. Make this recipe as written, you will not be disappointed. I needed a small amount, decided to only make a single layer, so I cut this in half. I spread a thin vanilla frosting on the cake while it was still warm. It was eaten before the next morning. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Good with rich topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Wow, what delicious cake...so moist and flavourful. I made them into cupcakes instead of a cake (baked for about 15 min @350 degrees) and Iced them with mocha frosting recipe from this site. Amazing. This will be my go to chocolate cake recipe...and so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this cake but used sour cream instead of the milk, used white vinegar and coffee as suggested, no baking powder, baked at 360-370 for 40 minutes. Awesome results. It rose in the middle without any problems. If I were decorating I would use a lower temperature to make it flatter. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I've had this recipe forever. We call it Chocolate Throw Together Cake. Try topping it with a frosting made of 1 pound powdered sugar, 1 Cup Peanut Butter, and 2-3 tablespoons milk. Have a cold cup of milk ready to wash it down with. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I have used this recipe twice now, once for a rectangular cake, another for a smaller cake. Both really moist and rich. However, as with even the picture on the top of this recipe, it seems to have trouble rising in the middle. Does anyone know why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haviland, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
The big problem with using cocoa powder is that it lacks the absolute ingredient to have the richest chocolate flavor ever : cocoa butter. It all comes down to the solids AND butter, not the solids only. As a result, this cake (and I must admit, all cakes using only cocoa powder) is unfortunately very disappointing. I put two stars because I feel it might be an acceptable base for some heavy fillings and frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States