Dark Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by LINDA REALE
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This cake is so easy to make and delicious!!! I used cake flour, dark unsweetened cocoa and buttermilk (no vinegar) as suggested by another reviewer. The entire cake was gone quickly. Next time I'll make two!! Thanks for a great recipe, Kellygurll!! I used 'Rich Chocolate Frosting' by Amy Via from the Allrecipes website. Excellent together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA REALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
WOW! I made this for my best friend's baby shower, as she is a choco-holic and this got great reviews. I'm not a fan of cake, but I CRAVE this one! I made the recommended substitution with buttermilk instead of milk/vinegar, and topped it with a chocolate ganache. It is ridiculously dangerous because it is so amazing and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
excellent and different way to do fish. I only had tilapia, but it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
awesome! my first cake from scatch and everybody loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
It is amazing! I made the milk into buttermilk like it was suggested. And added Dark chocolate chunks, and rolo pieces. Yummy! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
To give this a kick, I leave out the coffee n instead add 1 c water w/ 2 tspns raspberry or strawberry flavoring. It turns out tasting like a gourmet chocolate raspberry bar. Ive learned the hard way that I should mix the dry ingredients, set aside then add them to wet ingredients. Also like others I use buttermilk instead of milk n vinegar. Lastly the best temp for my 9x13 is 365F for 37min. Next time I'm gonna try almond flavoring w/ almonds on top n try for 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hasan'sCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
It was a good chocolate cake - moist and fluffy - but I didn't find it very exciting flavor-wise. To me, it didn't have any real depth of flavor, despite the 1 c coffee, and didn't taste like "dark" chocolate at all. Once I added frosting to it, it was better, but on its own it was pretty blasse. I will probably make a different chocolate cake recipe next time. I had high hopes for this recipe, and am bummed it fell short of my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is an easy and wonderfully moist chocolate cake recipe. I made it for a family dinner and everyone asked for seconds and doggy bags! I iced it with a cooked chocolate glaze, which was the perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This cake is very good and has excellent texture but was lacking the deep chocolate flavor I was expecting despite my using a high quality cocoa powder. I used the coffee butter frosting listed on this website which was a nice compliment to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is a keeper! The texture is fab very moist. Easy and quick to make. Followed suggestions and used butter milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States