Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Made this for my Dad's birthday. Should have tried it out first... I have to join in with the many folks who say it was too dry (it WAS) and too hard to get out of the pans. I did use the coffee trick, so the flavor was quite nice. We tried to save it by eating it with vanilla ice cream, but still too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written except in a 9x13x2 glass pan. Oh wow! It is just the right amount of chocolatey goodness. It was moist and not too dense. This will be made again many times I'm sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very good recipe. Made one batch of cupcakes. Tasted them then made another half batch. I make wedding cakes for friends and family. I will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this for my son's birthday the first time and now he wants it this year too. It is a wonderful tasting and moist cake. It is important to really take the time to cream the butter and sugar until it becomes fluffy and almost white in color. This will be the basis for the texture of the cake. It is also important to let the cocoa and boiling water mixture cool to room temperature before mixing up your cake. Try it. It is a super tasty and great textured cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this recipe for a friend of mine at work that has a dairy, corn and soy allergy. I replaced the butter with Spectrum Organic Shortening (Made with organic palm oil). It came out AMAZING. Other than the butter substitute, I made it exactly as written. Cake was moist and not dense at all. Perfect for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The only chocolate cake I will make from scratch from now on.. I cream the butter and sugar together for a good 5 minutes.. The flavanols in cocoa are soo good for you, but MILK blocks their absorption so I was tickled that this recipe uses water. I have made this several times for large family birthday parties..I tripled the recipe to fit in a 12 x 18 x 2 inch.. Worked wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I cut the recipe to fit one pan. It came out very much like a brownie. It was pretty good for a brownie, which I topped with ice cream and whipped cream, but it definitely didn't come out like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This cake is wonderful!!! It is very velvety yet still light. It has a nice rich chocolatey fudge flavor to it. I took the advice of another reviewer and used strong brewed coffee instead of water and seperated the eggs and beat the egg whites seperately with about 1/4 cup of the sugar. I will make this cake again...probably next week for a party :) Thank you! UPDATE: I made this again with the three layers and made a double batch of Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting found on this site between the layers and One Minute Chocolate Icing, also found on this site, on the outside (gives it a wonderful chocolate glossy coating that helps seal in the moisture). To me it was the perfect combo of sweetness and rich fudgy chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this for Christmas and it was delicious. I used white chocolate ganache and raspberry filling between the layers and I poured a semisweet chocolate ganache over the top layer. Three fresh raspberries garnished the top. My stepson gave it 2 thumbs up. I had it for breakfast the day after Christmas. I did have a challenge getting the layers out of the pans. Two of the 3 pans had a lever that loosens the cake sides & bottoms. One of these layers cracked when I tipped the pan onto my hand to remove it. I had to place the rack over the top of the pan and flip it to get it out safely. The layer in the pan without the lever stuck to the bottom of the pan. I scraped the stuck part and pieced it back onto the layer. The recipe only says to grease the pan. Next time, I will dust with cocoa as well. I just watched the video and it says to cool the cake completely before removing from the pan. The recipe doesn't say this and I cooled 15 minutes (like many cake mixes instruct). Perhaps this is why I had the cracking, but I don't think this caused the sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Nothing special. Not a good crumb as you would expect using cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States