Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is definitely the best chocolate cake recipe I've made. I'm making it for the second time this week. I took another reviewer's recommendation and separated the eggs and whipped the egg whites until soft peaked, and folded them after the rest of the batter was finished. The batter looks so delicious and velvety before it goes in the oven. Other people said it was dry and crumbly but mine was far from either. They were quite moist and (not sure how to describe this) firm but not dense. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is a good recipe, the cake has a nice chocolate flavor without being overly sweet. I made this recipe as written, except I replaced one of the cups of boiling water with very hot coffee, to get a richer, darker flavour. Baked in two pans instead of three for a double layer cake, and had no trouble with it coming out of the pan as others have mentioned. I did grease the pans and lined the bottom with greased parchment paper, worked perfectly once the cake had cooled it came right out. It is a very dense cake however, so if you're looking for a light, moist cake this is not your recipe. It's almost like a chocolate pound cake, it is so heavy. 4 stars instead of 5 because it was so dense, not a bad thing just unexpected. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I love baking from scratch, and this was the most delicious easiest recipe I found on the internet! I will use this for all my cake baking recipes in the future! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Rich, dark and delicious. So easy to make. I'll never use a Duncan Hines Devil's Food mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was an easy delicious recipe! It makes a lot of batter, I made 32 cupcakes, baking for about 20 minutes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I love this recipe. I bake a LOT including wedding cakes and this recipe is my go to since the first time I tried it years ago! It really lets the chocolate shine in a not overly sweet way and you can customize with frosting and fillings without it being overkill. I usually cut down on a cup of sugar to count the frosting. If the cake should stand on it's own (which it can!)- leave both cups. I switch out applesauce for butter when I want to save some calories. Works well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was FANTASTIC! I ended up halving it and making a different layer from a different layer. It worked out great but I really recommend watching the cooking video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamcalm
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This cake is incredibly moist and delicious! The only thing that took more time than I expected was cooling the chocolate mixture. I would recommend making the chocolate mixture in advanced for this reason! Otherwise this cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamcalm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Slightly dry although very chocolatey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Used coffee instead of water but either way this cake always comes out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States