Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Easy and delicious, make a day before as the flavor is much better after it sat in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
it was very good but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tehran, Tehran, Iran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made this cake for a friend's birthday and it was wonderful! Everyone loved it! I made one sort of accidental substitution, I used butter flavored Crisco +2 tbls of water instead of butter, I'd been reading through a bunch of recipes and couldn't remember what was needed when I went shopping. The cake was moist and delicious, with a rich, but not too sweet, chocolatey flavor. I frosted it with Rich Chocolate Frosting from this site and with my own buttercream recipe, I also filled it with a blackberry filling to cut the chocolate upon chocolate. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
As a super market cake decorator, I never baked my own cakes. The was my first cake from scratch and it was great. I made it with 2 other recipes from here...chocolate ganache and a whipped topping made with sour cream that went great with the dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is the easiest and best chocolate cake I have ever made. This is my new official chocolate cake recipe. I was surprised at how delicious & moist it was. Can't wait to make cupcakes out of this & top w/ a nice 7 minute icing! Perfect :) p.s. I used even amounts of butter & coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrish7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This is the ONLY chocolate cake recipe I will ever use. Not too sweet but a very deep true chocolate flavor! You get a big cake with this recipe so I often cut it in half, somehow when I do that the batter always ends up a bit thin so I just add more flour. Holds up beautifully for decorating and does just fine as cupcakes. If you are looking for an amazing (and easy) chocolate cake recipe, stop here!! You found it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I can't say how it would be made with butter, but I made it substituting coconut oil (for a chocolate coconut cake). I also used dark chocolate cocoa and milk instead of water. The cake was sooo good! Very moist and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I doubled the recipe to make a 12x17" sheet cake for my daughter's baby shower and it was wonderful. As others suggested, I did add a packet of instant coffee and used half regular cocoa and half dark cocoa. I saw the reviews that said it stuck to the bottom of the pan so I used cake release (look in the cake decorating section or a hobby store) and had no problems or the funny crusting that you get sometimes with the grease and flour sprays. I also stored it in the freezer for a couple of days to maintain/increase moisture. My learning experience during this was that a cake that size needs a piece of plywood under the cake board. I covered it with a pretty piece of fabric and it made the final product even prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I have tried many chocolate cake recipes and this one is definately the best. The texture is perfect if the directions are followed properly. I've tried whipping the egg whites but it doesn't seem to make a difference. I do use dutch process cocoa and strong coffee in place of the water. It gives the cake a deeper, more rich chocolate flavor. It actually gets better the day after you bake it (if it lasts that long!) The flavor really gets more intense after sitting overnight under some frosting. About the cake getting a dome in the middle, bake at 325, don't overfill the pan, and I use bake even strips for anything bigger than an 8" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Made it with coffee in place of water. It was very good and very rich. Next time I will serve it with just some whipped cream or a sprinkle of powdered sugar instead of icing. I made this in a non stick bundt pan, sprayed with pam and dusted with cocoa powder and some still stuck. next time I will use butter or Crisco instead of the spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States