Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Mine came out light brown and a tad dry. Not chocolatey enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet. This is by far my favorite chocolate cake recipe EVER. First off, a few adjustments: instead of boiling water I use very strong freshly brewed coffee, then, at the very end after all of my ingredients are mixed I throw in 8 spoonfuls of Plain Yogurt (NOT fat free and NOT sugar free). Definitely split between three 9" rounds - I used 2 and one of them overflowed (although this only happened ONCE out of the 6 times I've made this cake). This cake is *always* a hit, it's super moist and dense and I've been told "this is the best chocolate cake I've ever had" from other fellow bakers. Pair it with a butter cream frosting, cream cheese frosting or better yet... a butter/cream cheese frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious and easy cake. Fine, tender texture. I didn't cream the sugar and eggs together, I accidentally just mixed the sugar in with the flour and other dry ingredients, and it still turned out magnificent. My only complaint is it pulls apart really easily when applying frosting. It's so tender it falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is a beautiful tasting moist chocolate cake that looked great as a two layered cake once i covered it with cream cheese frosting. My problem is that I couldn't get mine out the pans without the edge sticking and crumbling off. I used baking paper but it stuck to it! I made sure my butter and eggs were room temp and I creamed the butter and sugar well to make sure it was aerated. I allowed the water and cocoa to cool and I added flour first and last when adding it with the chocolate water to the butter mixture. I'm not sure what went wrong?! I did add a shot of expresso but that was my only change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I just made this recipe. It came out great!. But I used the Kroger baking sweetener that just came out. Just use the same amount as the recipe called for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sadieville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very good chocolate cake recipe, nice texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
The only change I made was to add some plain yogurt for moistness. Used a chocolate glaze recipe from this site. Wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
By far the best chocolate cake recipe I have ever used. I use this on its own, or as a base layer for another cake I make and I always get compliments on it. There is not one thing I have changed in the recipe either. It doesn't even need icing it's so good just on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I used this recipe along with a couple others to make the most amazing chocolate peanut butter cake ever! poured ganache over it and bam! MAGIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States