Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I made this cake for a very special family reunion, and it was AMAZING!!! It came out light and moist, and tasted delicious with cream cheese frosting II(from this site) and strawberry cake filling(also from this site). I had no problem with the cake sticking to the pan. My trick for taking it out was to float the pan in a container of cold water for about five minutes. i then put a plate over the cake, turned it upside down, and patted the bottom of the pan. the cake came right out onto the plate, and i turned it over using another plate. Beautiful cake, elegant and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Awesome, awesome, awesome! Very dense but very moist. My largest glass mixing bowl was just barely big enough and the batter appeared a little runny going into the pans, but all turned out great. I also used 2 - 8 inch round cake pans with the listed ingredient amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I liked this cake recipe since the ingredients are simple. I live in high altitude so I had to bake it for 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good cake and easy to make. I made into a four layer cake with peanut butter frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Yum! This cake is moist and chocolaty but its not very sweet so you can add any frosting/icing you want or just dust it with powdered sugar. It's fantastic with fresh raspberries on the side. Even my mom, who hates sweets liked this recipe. Also, it was a simple recipe, which is great for a teen who loves to cook like me. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
DID IT IN THE MICROWAVE!! I halved the recipe just to try it out (had trouble computing a fourth). PERFECT! (I did reduce the sugar to about the same weight as the flour I used). I reduced the boiling water by 1/3 its original quantity, since I'll be baking it in a microwave oven, added a teaspoon of Nescafe to the cocoa powder, then left the rest unaltered. I filled my 4-inch ramekins half-full then baked them one by one in my microwave for 2.5 minutes on Medium-Low (#3 of 7 power levels) and they came out great! This is gonna be the recipe for my daughter's birthday cake and cupcakes! THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizMilitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iloilo City, Iloilo, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
this was so delicious! It stayed moist for days (i iced it) and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Super yummy, best with a glass of milk or ice cream. Super rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious, and not the least bit dry as some have claimed. I used fresh-brewed coffee instead of boiling water to add even more richness to the cocoa. I was out of granulated sugar, so I substituted 1.75 cups powdered sugar for every 1 cup granulated, and it turned out just fine, possibly even smoother than it might have. I used a brownie topping recipe as a filling (2/3 cup softened butter, 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, 2 tbsp honey, 2 tsp vanilla extract, 1&1/4 cup confectioners' sugar; warmed slightly for easier frosting, allowed to cool before adding layer) and lightly frosted with whipped cream. This will be my go-to chocolate cake base from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is a delicious chocolate cake. I added extra chocolate to give it a little more chocolate ommph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States