Dark Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This recipe is wonderful and elegant. I don't mean hold-the-teacup-with-your-pinky-out elegant, I mean that it is a simple, well-designed recipe which gives the intended result without unnecessary complications. Most wonderfully, this recipe is forgiving. I followed it as accurately as I could, but I was baking in a shared kitchen in a university dormitory. I had to cut it by 1/3 because we only have two pans. We don't have tea spoons or table spoons. We just have spoons. Our measuring cups are nearly worthless. Our oven is unreliable. I still got a beautiful, moist, flavorful, velvety dark chocolate cake. It rose a little more in the middle than I wanted, but I think that's because I couldn't measure the baking powder or baking soda. For the middle I made and used a quick rhubarb-cinnamon compote. The sour tang really paired well with the lush chocolate of this cake. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
this was amazing. It was also the only recipe I could find that didn't call for milk, which is why I made it in the first place. But from now on I won't be baking any other recipe. it tastes GREAT with cream cheese frosting, also homemade ofc, but definitely try that! thank you thank you thank you for making it possible to surprise my husband with an early valentine's day cake without keeping milk in the fridge lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Skalnick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
At our home, this cake is called "The Birthday Cake". Everyone wants it for their birthday. It is easy to make and super delish! Make sure to bake it for 20 minutes and then check every three minutes. It does dry out. Also, as stated before, be sure to use parchment paper in the bottom of your greased and floured pans! Very important!! I use "Chocolate Frosting I" for the frosting and it is great! The consistancy and quantity is sometimes tricky, though. Quantity is just a little short. Thank you, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merhall
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I am teaching my self how to make bake from scratch. I absolutely live this recipe. It was easy to make and it came out fantastic. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Brilliant recipe! I too used coffee (very strong) in place of water, turned out gorgeous. If you learn anything in cookery school, it is that SIMPLE can be the BEST at times, and this recipe warrants both titles! Absolutely perfect. Thanks for recipe addition to my ever growing collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Everyone in my family requests this for their birthday cake EVERY YEAR. I've had friends walk out the door scooping the leftovers into a to go cup at the end up a party, begging me to send them the recipe. They love it. I don't like cake, but I love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best cake around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Tried this replacing the boiling water with coffee. Fantastic! Added almond bits to the top of the cake and it's plain perfect. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jun Ru Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This recipe is really good. It's tastes amazing and it's really moist. My only problem is that it completely fell apart when I tried to take it out of my pan. Any hints on how to NOT make a cake stick? That'd be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
A good cake batter for all needs! I use generous coat of cooking spary on non-stick bake-ware and it come out perfect after slight cooling in the pan. I have used it for layer cake, cup-cakes and mini-cup cakes. I use only 2 cups of sugar, and the rest, just like the recipe. Baking times: if you make 2 (thicker) cakes: 45 min in muffin size: 15 minutes mini muffin size: 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States