Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I would have to try it. My curiousity got the best of me tonight and I whipped up a batch. These are seriously THE best cupcakes I've ever eaten, let alone made. Moist, full of flavor, and heavenly rich. I love the depth that the bacon and coffee add to the chocolate flavor. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
These had an awesome depth of flavor. I am not a coffee drinker so I only had gourmet chocolate caramel coffee, and I am made it real strong (3 tablespoons for 1 cup). I finely crumbled the bacon. Within the mixture, they end up being almost undetectable, except for a slightly salty bit everyso often which mixes wonderfully with the chocolate flavor. Not to mention these cupcakes are supermoist and fluffy! Note: My first batch flattened cause I took them out too early to check them...second batch came out perfect I left them in there, when I saw that they rose nicely, I turned off the oven and let them sit for 5 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
These got an immediate "awesome" and my 10yr old ate 2 right away..for some reason they stuck to the cupcake wrappers but im sure it was something i did.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I couldn't believe these, and my boys couldn't either. They loved them! I followed this recipe exactly EXCEPT I added some 71% dark chocolate which I grated into the batter, I only put in like 1/4 of a bar. I wanted to make sure they were chocolately enough and they definetly were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I was browsing youtube one night when I came upon a video that praises this recipe. I just had to try it! I substituted dark baking chocolate bits for the cocoa, reduced the oil and sugar, and they came out fantastic. ^_^ I brought them to work... and they keep asking for them! I'm keeping this one, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by li'l miss baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Disco
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These cupcakes were fantastic! I left the bacon out of a few for my vegetarian friends, and they were excellent. However, the cupcakes with the bacon were even better! I've never eaten a more moist cupcake, and the added richness of the bacon was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Disco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Do NOT be scared of these! They are FABULOUS! The bacon adds a nice salty/smoky flavor and the coffee (I HATE coffee/coffee flavor) serves only to bring out the depth of the chocolate taste. I'm also not a fan of *from scratch* cake recipes (they never taste as good as the box to me), but THIS does! Unbeknownst to me, Mr. LTH had used the last of our milk, so I had to use heavy whipping cream in its place, but that was the only change I made (other than to halve the recipe, which gave me 11 cupcakes). DO try these; TY for a great recipe!!! EDIT: I made these for the second time as minis for a meeting I was catering in case people were a little *intimidated* by them. They make 10 dozen minis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana2007
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Oh my, these are quite good! I am not sure how much the bacon really added to the flavor. I could tell it was there in the texture, but it could easily be left out and they would still be good. I frosted them with Chocolate Frosting 1 and sprinkled the tops with a little finely crumbled bacon. Looked great and were enjoyed by all. The bacon does make a very interesting conversation starter! Thye are definitely better the second day, I would strongly advise that you make them a day ahead and lets the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Wow these are great!! I was not to sure about it, but thought what the heck. And I was very pleased. I topped them with chocolate butter cream frosting. No one could believe it was bacon. One tip - dice the bacon before frying and there is no worry about chewy spots in the cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acejarvis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I cut the recipe in half and used powdered buttermilk, and these still worked! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States