Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
WOW! If you LOVE Chocolate and you LOVE Bacon you have to try this! This definitely is the perfect marriage of sweet and salty. My husband thinks bacon should be a food group so I thought I'd surprise him with this for his birthday instead of making a regular 'ol birthday cake. This definitely fit the bill. The cake in and of itself is beyond moist and chocolately. You could tell that right away from the buttermilk and oil that it was going to be good. I used 1 cup of Hershey's cocoa but other than that didn't change a thing. I think I'll use this cake recipe with or without the bacon because it was so rich and decadent! I didn't want huge chunks of bacon in this so I put the bacon in a mini-food processor and then added it to the batter. I didn't want to do small cupcakes because I needed a "WOW" factor so I made a dozen Texas sized cupcakes in a oversized muffin pan. They took a little longer to bake but ended up looking like mini-cakes. I iced them with "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from this site which is to die for and toppped them with the additional crumbled bacon. When I tried one for the first time I thought why not have these for breakfast - it's got everything...coffee and bacon. Definitely a case of "don't knock it 'til ya try it"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
These had an awesome depth of flavor. I am not a coffee drinker so I only had gourmet chocolate caramel coffee, and I am made it real strong (3 tablespoons for 1 cup). I finely crumbled the bacon. Within the mixture, they end up being almost undetectable, except for a slightly salty bit everyso often which mixes wonderfully with the chocolate flavor. Not to mention these cupcakes are supermoist and fluffy! Note: My first batch flattened cause I took them out too early to check them...second batch came out perfect I left them in there, when I saw that they rose nicely, I turned off the oven and let them sit for 5 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I would have to try it. My curiousity got the best of me tonight and I whipped up a batch. These are seriously THE best cupcakes I've ever eaten, let alone made. Moist, full of flavor, and heavenly rich. I love the depth that the bacon and coffee add to the chocolate flavor. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Do NOT be scared of these! They are FABULOUS! The bacon adds a nice salty/smoky flavor and the coffee (I HATE coffee/coffee flavor) serves only to bring out the depth of the chocolate taste. I'm also not a fan of *from scratch* cake recipes (they never taste as good as the box to me), but THIS does! Unbeknownst to me, Mr. LTH had used the last of our milk, so I had to use heavy whipping cream in its place, but that was the only change I made (other than to halve the recipe, which gave me 11 cupcakes). DO try these; TY for a great recipe!!! EDIT: I made these for the second time as minis for a meeting I was catering in case people were a little *intimidated* by them. They make 10 dozen minis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I couldn't believe these, and my boys couldn't either. They loved them! I followed this recipe exactly EXCEPT I added some 71% dark chocolate which I grated into the batter, I only put in like 1/4 of a bar. I wanted to make sure they were chocolately enough and they definetly were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I had such high hopes for this recipe! I made it for a girls' weekend, thinking it would be just the thing - we all love chocolate, bacon, and coffee. I followed the recipe exactly, and found the batter VERY difficult to work with - extremely runny. I would suggest using a container with a spout to pour into the cups. I also thought the bacon was a lot of extra work and didn't add anything extra to the cupcakes, just weird little chewy bits in them (and I crumbled them very small). And while the batter was very runny, the finished cupcakes were pretty dry. Interesting idea and I'm glad I tried them, but I won't make them again - I'd just as soon make cupcakes from a box, which I never do. No one who tried them really liked them, even before they were told the ingredients. Their only saving grace was the chocolate ganache icing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I was browsing youtube one night when I came upon a video that praises this recipe. I just had to try it! I substituted dark baking chocolate bits for the cocoa, reduced the oil and sugar, and they came out fantastic. ^_^ I brought them to work... and they keep asking for them! I'm keeping this one, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by li'l miss baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
My husband was thrilled to have this combination of two of his favorite flavors for this birthday, and I though they were pretty good, too. I made sure the bacon was super crispy and crumbled into tiny bits - I can't imagine that coming across a surprise strip of chewy bacon would be happy. I didn't have a problem with the cupcakes going flat (even with a 5-year-old running around), and the texture was very fluffy. With a little more chocolate (maybe bittersweet chips or shavings), it might even be good without bacon. I used the recipe here for Creamy Chocolate Frosting as the topping. I thought its sweetness was the perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNOUSCHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Disco
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These cupcakes were fantastic! I left the bacon out of a few for my vegetarian friends, and they were excellent. However, the cupcakes with the bacon were even better! I've never eaten a more moist cupcake, and the added richness of the bacon was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Disco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is one of those recipes that you just have to try. So I did and they really are good. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I halved it. I used some coffee with cinnamon in it and it turned out nice. Also, I frosted them with some semi-sweet chocolate ganache. So they were super chocolatey and yummy! Very moist. I do think that next time I will try to really crumble the bacon very finely so there's no visible pieces, or honestly I might just make them without the bacon all together because the actual cupcake is just awesome and I hate frying bacon. But this recipe is fantastic as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States