Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by SherylDean420
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
ive had to beg people to try these! but once they do they CANT get enough! soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherylDean420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
These cupcakes were delicious! I loved how moist and dark the cake was and the bacon added a really great element. I forgot to save some bacon to sprinkle on top, which I think would have made them even better. This is my go-to chocolate cake recipe now, with or without the bacon. For the frosting I used a basic cocoa buttercream and then lightly sprinkled sea salt on the top of each cupcake to bring out the rich flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
OMG these are soooooooooo good! I am totally in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I absolutely LOVED these cupcakes! I was skeptical at first but I figured I would give it a shot since I love chocolate and love bacon. At first I debated just using bacon crumbles in any old boxed cupcake mix but after trying out this recipe, I can tell that it wouldn't be anywhere near as good without this amazing dark chocolate cupcake recipe to go along with it. A wonderful combination and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I'm a bit mixed on this one. I docked 1 star b/c the bacon detracted from the cake (but I don't think it has to). The cake itself was outstanding. Everyone agreed that the bacon added a strange, surprising chewy texture, though flavor-wise, it was complementary. My advice: If you're going to put the bacon in, be sure to get it *very crispy* and *very small.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolastorm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I followed the instructions exactly. The cake itself was fine, the bacon in it however gave it an off flavor, like a mild chocolate/bacon flavor throughout. Was not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn La

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I made these for a Father's Day brunch and it was a BIG hit. There were many reluctant tryers but once they tasted it they said it was good. How can you go wrong? It's bacon and chocolate!!! Next time I will add more coffee or brew it stonger as it wasn't strong enough for me. I used store bought chocolate icing as I was short on time! This is a must try recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I made these when no one was around. Just in case they taste funny. These are so good I don't know if anyone else will ever taste them. I have to stop eating them and leave some for someone else. Help me!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
They were the best cupcakes ever!!! I was thinking next time to use bacon grease instead of vegie oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Mmmmmmmmm.... These were everything I had hoped they would be. I topped them with a buttery milk chocolate frosting, because I thought I dark chocolate frosting would overwhelm you with chocolate. I also topped each one with a chocolate covered chunk of bacon. These cupcakes were so fabulous. Light and fluffy, and such a depth of flavor!!!! They're so delish! TRY THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States