Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These are absolutely amazing. I made a chocolate buttercream frosting, subbing about a tablespoon of the butter for bacon drippings. I sent them into work with my husband and they were gone in under 5 minutes! All of the guys are begging their wives to get the recipe from me, and even some of the officers have requested that I make them, since they've heard how amazing they were! Thank you so much for the amazing recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Disappointing, I must admit. I guess I was expecting and hoping for more WOW. It just wasn't there, although it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This turned out very yummy! And the reaction faces were priceless! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Well I loved them, but my family was not crazy about them. I crumbled up the bacon and added some to the batter & used the remaining bacon on top of the frosting like sprinkles. I thought the combination of bacon & choc was heavenly. I used low-sodium bacon but if I make them again, I would use regular bacon because I think it lacked some of the "sweet & salty" combo due to the low-sodium bacon. These cupcakes are very contemporary, would be great for a party. They don't store well, the bacon gets soft & rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruTigress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Recipe turned out awesome! I even had twin 14 year old boys ask if I could make them for their halloween party. I made them with gluten free flour but they were great. I also used a whole pound of bacon in the recipe. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were amzing! Hubster and I liked them although 17 year old son did not lol I would make them again and I just put a chocolate glaze on them and not the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This recipe is amazing!! Probably one of the best recipes I've stumbled across, ever. Thanks mkcupcakequeen and allrecipies.com! Everybody who's tried these cupcakes have loved it so far. The coffee adds amazing depth to the chocolate cake, which is deliciously moist, and the bacon works surprisingly well when you frost the cupcake. I'm not a huge chocolate frosting fan, so I whipped up a batch of maple buttercream frosting, which really complemented the rich, dark sweetness of the cake and the savory saltiness of the bacon. The cake tasted kind of weird on its own, but with this frosting it was perrrfect--though in the future I'm going to modify the icing recipe to use less butter, since it was a bit too buttery for me. I used thick cut bacon since that's all we had--will try with normal bacon next time since I think it'll be better with super crispy bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The chocolate cake itself was good, I may try it without the bacon. None of us cared for the texture or flavor of the bacon with the chocolate - it just didn't work to run across the pieces of bacon in with the cupcakes - I chopped it quite fine and cooked it well, but it was just an odd texture in a cupcake. No thanks! Coming back to say I tried the recipe again without bacon and the cupcakes were fantastic - the coffee really gives the chocolate flavor some "oomph" and the cupcakes were so moist. I frosted them with "Rick's Special Butercream Frosting" from this site, adding 3 Tbsp. cocoa powder and using 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortning instead of all shortening like it called for. Guests at my party loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is one of the best chocolate cake recipes i have ever had. Will be my go to recipe. The bacon, although a fun idea was not for me. If i do it again i will put the bacon in the food processor to add the flavor without the texture. Found the bacon texture to be just chewy and unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Amazing Flavors! My boyfriend and his family always want me to make these for them. I would recommend a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States