Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Super Yummy, but couldn't really taste the bacon. Made them with maple buttercream and they got really good reviews from the family gathering on Father's day. Will make again without the bacon to save some on calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These were pretty good! I was nervous because the batter was really thin. They rose beautifully and are moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Nice cupcakes but not bacony for me ... Check out my Super Baconator cupcakes. I mixed this recipe with several others to create the Baconstein of cupcakes ... IT'S ALIVE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir_Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Turned out SO yummy with the "Rich Chocolate Frosting" also found on allrecipes. I tried it with 1/8th cup of bacon grease & the rest oil & also one batch with all vegetable oil. Both had bacon bits in it and had a great bacon taste. I think using all oil ensures it will be a bit more moist though. I agree with the other reviewers in making the bacon nice and crispy so people don't bite into anything too chewy. I put them in foil cupcake liners and they looked beautiful! I've gotten many requests to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is an amazing recipe! Everyone who had one came back for more, and brought friends! Now for the tips/tricks: I took the advice of previous reviewers and brewed my coffee very, very strong and made sure the bacon was really, really crispy. Rather than frying it up, I followed the directions on the back of the bacon package to cook on a cookie sheet in the oven, which worked very nicely. Also, to get the pieces as small as possible, I used a food processor to crumble, which also worked nicely. I chose to make mini-cupcakes instead of regular sized. If you decide to go this direction, I baked mine for 12 minutes and they came out done, but still moist. However, I would shy away from making this recipe as minis again. The flavor of the cake was spot on, but in the smaller size when frosted, the cake to frosting ratio (even with minimal frosting) skewed the overall flavor and made the bacon hard to detect. After extensive testing by my volunteer tasters, it was agreed that a regular size cupcake would create the best balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I did not add the bacon (will try it in the future) however these chocolate cupcakes were amazing. Full of flavor and moist. They are my new chocolate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistythayer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Photo by Marieclaire0924
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Awesome Recipe! Was a huge success and everyone was excited to try something different. I did half with maple syrup icing and half with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
flat tops. used dark roast starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly and used the rich chocolate frosting recipe from this site that another viewer suggested. How can you go wrong with chocolate and bacon? Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
These are absolutely amazing. I made a chocolate buttercream frosting, subbing about a tablespoon of the butter for bacon drippings. I sent them into work with my husband and they were gone in under 5 minutes! All of the guys are begging their wives to get the recipe from me, and even some of the officers have requested that I make them, since they've heard how amazing they were! Thank you so much for the amazing recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States