Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I thought the cupcakes were tasty, and the coffee adds an interesting flavor- but I feel like the bacon is lost in these. I actually used more bacon than the recipe called for, and I still felt underwhelmed. I was expecting to taste chocolate and bacon throughout, but the only flavor of bacon I got was the from the chocolate covered bacon slices I put on top. The rest of the cupcake was just a really good chocolate cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was actually quite easy and they are fantastic! I halved the recipe to only make 12, and frosted with a simple chocolate butter cream frosting. Everyone is asking for more, so I guess i should have just made the whole 24 cupcakes the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catholic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I made a smaller batch (a dozen) and did half a cup sugar and half a cup Splenda, tossed in a handful of organic chocolate chips with the bacon and topped with caramel chocolate frosting, a dusting of cocoa powder, bacon and a pinch of sea salt. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 805_Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is my absolute favorite, go-to chocolate cake recipe! I have yet to actually make it with the bacon, so I've just left that out and made it as a standard round layer cake or cupcakes. I almost always use Hershey's Special Dark cocoa, which makes a huge difference. I used a store brand regular cocoa powder once, and it just wasn't the same. Definitely a great recipe if you're looking for moist, chocolatey cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and everyone who has tried it has totally fallen in love with it! It's my go to for special treats! I have also used the dark unsweetened cocoa in it for extra depth! Don't worry about the batter appearing runny; it thickens up when you add the bacon. I also added a beautiful mocha whipped cream frosting. It's very light and enhances the richness of these cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I like to bake and thought this recipe sounded good. Gave some to relatives, friends, and work associates. Everyone loved them but me! Who wouldn't love chocolate and bacon? That would be me. The cupcakes were such a hit that I would make them as gifts in the future...people raved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Made these for my family(following the recipe exactly as written)but the overall decision was that the bacon added a strange texture and not a lot of flavor. Plus I thought that the bacon would still be crispy and unfortunately the bacon was very soft even though I almost burned the bacon. I'm glad that I tried this recipe but I will not be making these again. On a side note: the chocolate cake recipe is delicious without the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I liked this but I didn't do a good job at crumbling the bacon. I would definitely do them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
not impressed. made this recipe exactly to the letter and it did not turn out right. it ended up mushy and did not cook fully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melleyaguila
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This recipe was amazing! my cousin was having a pig roast party, and we thought that this would be very fitting with the theme. I made this cupcake recipe into a cake using 1 1/2 recipes yielding a 3 layer 8 inch cake. I used chocolate peanut butter frosting in between the layers as well as a coat of chocolate ganache between each layer. As an after thought a nice salted caramel could have worked as well. Do not be afraid to try this recipe, it'll be a crowd pleaser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melleyaguila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States