Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These cupcakes had a good consistency and the bacon added some interesting flavor and texture. I was surprised how tender and moist these were for homemade cake. This was a very easy cupcake and would have been very quick without the bacon. I might try these again without bacon and with chocolate chips for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These cupcakes with the Fudge frosting from this site made an amazing treat that got thumbs up from all. I made large size cupcakes because that was the size liners I had on hand and I got 16 cupcakes. I baked them for 25 minutes and they were perfect. These are so moist you could enjoy them unfrosted. Thanks mk, these are winners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I made this yesterday for my bacon-fanatic boyfriend and while, we both agreed they were good in taste (esp the chocolate cupcake part), his co-workers did not agree. I don't think any of them even tried them once they found out there was bacon inside! As I type this, he is having trouble getting anyone to try one! C'mon people, don't FEAR THE BACON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by mmemaraschino
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very tasty! This was my first time making bacon cupcakes, and these were a nice start. They are not at all overly "bacon-y", but I didn't add the full amount of bacon because my helpers were helping themselves to it while my back was turned! I used Hershey's Perfectly Chocolate Frosting recipe with them and it was an awesome match. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious, but mine did not taste very bacon-y. The cake was moist and tasty and did not really taste like coffee. It was a nice experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shteffers
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I decided to make these cuppies as a holiday treat for a few guys in my life enamored with bacon. The taste of this cake is incredible and had people moaning after every bite - and then I told them they were Bacon Cupcakes. The bacon is not blatantly obvious, if you didn't know it was in there you can't tell. The only noteworthy thing I would like to mention is that I used microwave bacon and cooked it until it was dry and easy to crumble. After crumbling I picked out any fatty clumps that would not be palatable. I used a custom ganache frosting and used hand dipped chocolate covered bacon pieces as garnish. One taster asked if it was toffee! I have used the recipe (without the bacon) as a bundt cake and will probable use this as one of my base chocolate cake recipes for years to come. I highly recommend giving this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shteffers
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made these for a holiday party, and while the partygoers brought mixed reviews (mostly of the "Chocolate? Bacon??" variety) I thought they were amazing. The cupcake itself was so light and fluffy, I couldn't even taste the coffee, and the bacon was simply delicious mixed in. I used skim milk mixed with 1tbsp of vinegar instead of buttermilk, olive oil instead of vegetable, and I used an entire package of thick-cut bacon. Simply amazing, and I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
You could also leave the bacon out of it, the cupcake receipe is just amazing. I was really surprised because it doesn't call for any butter. At any rate with or without the bacon it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a great chocolate cake mix. I didn't make any changes to the recipe....I made it as is. It is wonderful. It's a little strange with the bacon bits in the cake but the chocolate and the salty make a tasty combination. I topped them off with the Creamy Chocolate Frosting from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this recipe, as others I'm sure did, out of sheer curiosity. Bacon = good, chocolate = good, and cupcakes = good, but do the three all go together. I was intrigued...so intrepid cook that I am, I dove in. Results: basic chocolate cupcake was moist and tasty and the addition of bacon was unique and interesting. However, I won't be making them again. My advice, make them once as a conversation item if you care to and then forget the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States