Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious, but mine did not taste very bacon-y. The cake was moist and tasty and did not really taste like coffee. It was a nice experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shteffers
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I decided to make these cuppies as a holiday treat for a few guys in my life enamored with bacon. The taste of this cake is incredible and had people moaning after every bite - and then I told them they were Bacon Cupcakes. The bacon is not blatantly obvious, if you didn't know it was in there you can't tell. The only noteworthy thing I would like to mention is that I used microwave bacon and cooked it until it was dry and easy to crumble. After crumbling I picked out any fatty clumps that would not be palatable. I used a custom ganache frosting and used hand dipped chocolate covered bacon pieces as garnish. One taster asked if it was toffee! I have used the recipe (without the bacon) as a bundt cake and will probable use this as one of my base chocolate cake recipes for years to come. I highly recommend giving this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shteffers
Living In: Plymouth, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made these for a holiday party, and while the partygoers brought mixed reviews (mostly of the "Chocolate? Bacon??" variety) I thought they were amazing. The cupcake itself was so light and fluffy, I couldn't even taste the coffee, and the bacon was simply delicious mixed in. I used skim milk mixed with 1tbsp of vinegar instead of buttermilk, olive oil instead of vegetable, and I used an entire package of thick-cut bacon. Simply amazing, and I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
You could also leave the bacon out of it, the cupcake receipe is just amazing. I was really surprised because it doesn't call for any butter. At any rate with or without the bacon it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a great chocolate cake mix. I didn't make any changes to the recipe....I made it as is. It is wonderful. It's a little strange with the bacon bits in the cake but the chocolate and the salty make a tasty combination. I topped them off with the Creamy Chocolate Frosting from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made this recipe, as others I'm sure did, out of sheer curiosity. Bacon = good, chocolate = good, and cupcakes = good, but do the three all go together. I was intrigued...so intrepid cook that I am, I dove in. Results: basic chocolate cupcake was moist and tasty and the addition of bacon was unique and interesting. However, I won't be making them again. My advice, make them once as a conversation item if you care to and then forget the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was the first cake that I ever made from scratch. Super easy and very moist. Great tasting cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to make with my 2 grandsons (5 and 9). This held their attention and they couldn't wait for them to cool enough to eat. They were so excited to have made something so "awesome". They want to make them again when they come for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
My curiosity would never be satisfied until I tried these. I used half regular cocoa and half dark cocoa for them. While it's an interesting combination of flavors, now that my curiosity has been satisfied, I doubt I would make them again. I loved my husband's comment, "It's like eating dinner and dessert together". I iced them with Rich Chocolate Frosting, again using half regular and half dark cocoa. In the future, I think I'll keep my dinner and dessert separate, but I urge the curious to give these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Cupcakequeen, you are my savior. Through no fault of my own, I got roped into participating in a SPAM Cook-off at work. I had to find something to make that would be 'fashionable', as I am not the spreadable spam app with crackers type of gal. I really wanted something that would really rock the boat...you know, make people mildly scared, but intrigued at the same time? This was it! I sliced the spam as thin as possible with a mandolin, then fried it to oblivion to remove any chewy texture. I then shredded it to a super-fine consistency in the food processor. Taking another reviewer's tip, I shaved Lindt dark chocolate into the batter as well. WOW. It was amazing! Since Spam is virtually a flavorless salt block, I opted to add a little liquid smoke to the batter as well to mimic bacon...it wasn't overpowering and really brought out the chocolate/ coffee flavor. I came in second place! A co-worker who is a professional cake maker on the side said I should have won, and I take her opinion over all others. Great job cupcakequeen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States