Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
WOW! If you LOVE Chocolate and you LOVE Bacon you have to try this! This definitely is the perfect marriage of sweet and salty. My husband thinks bacon should be a food group so I thought I'd surprise him with this for his birthday instead of making a regular 'ol birthday cake. This definitely fit the bill. The cake in and of itself is beyond moist and chocolately. You could tell that right away from the buttermilk and oil that it was going to be good. I used 1 cup of Hershey's cocoa but other than that didn't change a thing. I think I'll use this cake recipe with or without the bacon because it was so rich and decadent! I didn't want huge chunks of bacon in this so I put the bacon in a mini-food processor and then added it to the batter. I didn't want to do small cupcakes because I needed a "WOW" factor so I made a dozen Texas sized cupcakes in a oversized muffin pan. They took a little longer to bake but ended up looking like mini-cakes. I iced them with "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from this site which is to die for and toppped them with the additional crumbled bacon. When I tried one for the first time I thought why not have these for breakfast - it's got everything...coffee and bacon. Definitely a case of "don't knock it 'til ya try it"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Exxxcellent. I'm not a scratch-cake baker by nature, but this is one awesome cake recipe! I folllowed the directions exactly, but spun the bacon in my food processor so I wouldn't run into big meaty bits. After exhausting my scratch capabilities with the cake, I chose pre-made dark chocolate frosting and garnished it with crumbled bacon, sea salt, and chopped semi-sweet chocolate. Yum! I'm sending a bunch of these to work with my husband tomorrow - we'll see what his bacon-loving crew thinks...crazy or genius? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I'm on the fence on this one. While the cupcake itself tastes fine and just saying bacon in the name of it made most of my male friends excited to eat cupcakes... I wasn't quite impressed with the total outcome. I was expecting a salty/sweet combo, but really didn't get much salty. I followed the recipe exactly. Fried the bacon crispy then crumbled the pieces down very small. Like other comments mentioned, there were a few larger pieces of chewy bacon fat which I added in anyway since I didn't think it would be a big deal. In the finished cupcake, those larger pieces were the only bits of bacon we even tasted. It was just a regular chocolate cupcake to me, dense in texture, chewy but definitely didn't taste like dark chocolate (maybe using a dark chocolate cocoa would be better). AND I bought things like buttermilk which I was only going to use for this recipe and now have to figure out what to do with the rest. Overall the recipe is good, but maybe I play with the amount of bacon to get a better salty/sweet combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These cupcakes had a good consistency and the bacon added some interesting flavor and texture. I was surprised how tender and moist these were for homemade cake. This was a very easy cupcake and would have been very quick without the bacon. I might try these again without bacon and with chocolate chips for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These cupcakes with the Fudge frosting from this site made an amazing treat that got thumbs up from all. I made large size cupcakes because that was the size liners I had on hand and I got 16 cupcakes. I baked them for 25 minutes and they were perfect. These are so moist you could enjoy them unfrosted. Thanks mk, these are winners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I made this yesterday for my bacon-fanatic boyfriend and while, we both agreed they were good in taste (esp the chocolate cupcake part), his co-workers did not agree. I don't think any of them even tried them once they found out there was bacon inside! As I type this, he is having trouble getting anyone to try one! C'mon people, don't FEAR THE BACON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by mmemaraschino
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very tasty! This was my first time making bacon cupcakes, and these were a nice start. They are not at all overly "bacon-y", but I didn't add the full amount of bacon because my helpers were helping themselves to it while my back was turned! I used Hershey's Perfectly Chocolate Frosting recipe with them and it was an awesome match. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious, but mine did not taste very bacon-y. The cake was moist and tasty and did not really taste like coffee. It was a nice experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shteffers
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I decided to make these cuppies as a holiday treat for a few guys in my life enamored with bacon. The taste of this cake is incredible and had people moaning after every bite - and then I told them they were Bacon Cupcakes. The bacon is not blatantly obvious, if you didn't know it was in there you can't tell. The only noteworthy thing I would like to mention is that I used microwave bacon and cooked it until it was dry and easy to crumble. After crumbling I picked out any fatty clumps that would not be palatable. I used a custom ganache frosting and used hand dipped chocolate covered bacon pieces as garnish. One taster asked if it was toffee! I have used the recipe (without the bacon) as a bundt cake and will probable use this as one of my base chocolate cake recipes for years to come. I highly recommend giving this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shteffers
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made these for a holiday party, and while the partygoers brought mixed reviews (mostly of the "Chocolate? Bacon??" variety) I thought they were amazing. The cupcake itself was so light and fluffy, I couldn't even taste the coffee, and the bacon was simply delicious mixed in. I used skim milk mixed with 1tbsp of vinegar instead of buttermilk, olive oil instead of vegetable, and I used an entire package of thick-cut bacon. Simply amazing, and I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States