Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These were fabulous! Everyone I shared them with loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This recipe is awesome. Not only is the basic mix for it amazing but I love the extra bacon flavor. I followed the recipe to a T and they came out lovely. I did do as another reviewer did and dipped the garnish bacon in chocolate and sprinkled a tiny bit of sea salt. I also cooked my bacon till it was almost burnt to make sure it crumbled and blended well. Also make sure no to over mix this! My batter was still lumpy but they came out perfect. The icing I used was the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting by: Tom which made a perfect contrast with the dark and the light. Thank you so much for such a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms_ako

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this for a "meat bbq" where everything including dessert had to be made with meat. The cake was moist and delicious! I use this recipe for all my base-chocolate cakes now. I just wish they had more bacon flavor - other recipes call for bacon grease to be reserved and added. Other than that the cake was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I've made these several times, and they've been a hit every time. The coffee ties the bacon and chocolate together perfectly, and the cake has a wonderful texture. I would recommend using opinionated bacon (really smoked); the flavor can get lost in the chocolate, and the bacon becomes nothing but a chewy texture in the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JASpecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
WOW! If you LOVE Chocolate and you LOVE Bacon you have to try this! This definitely is the perfect marriage of sweet and salty. My husband thinks bacon should be a food group so I thought I'd surprise him with this for his birthday instead of making a regular 'ol birthday cake. This definitely fit the bill. The cake in and of itself is beyond moist and chocolately. You could tell that right away from the buttermilk and oil that it was going to be good. I used 1 cup of Hershey's cocoa but other than that didn't change a thing. I think I'll use this cake recipe with or without the bacon because it was so rich and decadent! I didn't want huge chunks of bacon in this so I put the bacon in a mini-food processor and then added it to the batter. I didn't want to do small cupcakes because I needed a "WOW" factor so I made a dozen Texas sized cupcakes in a oversized muffin pan. They took a little longer to bake but ended up looking like mini-cakes. I iced them with "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from this site which is to die for and toppped them with the additional crumbled bacon. When I tried one for the first time I felt a little like Bill Cosby and thought why not have these for breakfast - it's got everything. Why this even has two additional breakfast items: coffee and bacon. It's got it all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Exxxcellent. I'm not a scratch-cake baker by nature, but this is one awesome cake recipe! I folllowed the directions exactly, but spun the bacon in my food processor so I wouldn't run into big meaty bits. After exhausting my scratch capabilities with the cake, I chose pre-made dark chocolate frosting and garnished it with crumbled bacon, sea salt, and chopped semi-sweet chocolate. Yum! I'm sending a bunch of these to work with my husband tomorrow - we'll see what his bacon-loving crew thinks...crazy or genius? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I'm on the fence on this one. While the cupcake itself tastes fine and just saying bacon in the name of it made most of my male friends excited to eat cupcakes... I wasn't quite impressed with the total outcome. I was expecting a salty/sweet combo, but really didn't get much salty. I followed the recipe exactly. Fried the bacon crispy then crumbled the pieces down very small. Like other comments mentioned, there were a few larger pieces of chewy bacon fat which I added in anyway since I didn't think it would be a big deal. In the finished cupcake, those larger pieces were the only bits of bacon we even tasted. It was just a regular chocolate cupcake to me, dense in texture, chewy but definitely didn't taste like dark chocolate (maybe using a dark chocolate cocoa would be better). AND I bought things like buttermilk which I was only going to use for this recipe and now have to figure out what to do with the rest. Overall the recipe is good, but maybe I play with the amount of bacon to get a better salty/sweet combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These cupcakes had a good consistency and the bacon added some interesting flavor and texture. I was surprised how tender and moist these were for homemade cake. This was a very easy cupcake and would have been very quick without the bacon. I might try these again without bacon and with chocolate chips for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These cupcakes with the Fudge frosting from this site made an amazing treat that got thumbs up from all. I made large size cupcakes because that was the size liners I had on hand and I got 16 cupcakes. I baked them for 25 minutes and they were perfect. These are so moist you could enjoy them unfrosted. Thanks mk, these are winners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I made this yesterday for my bacon-fanatic boyfriend and while, we both agreed they were good in taste (esp the chocolate cupcake part), his co-workers did not agree. I don't think any of them even tried them once they found out there was bacon inside! As I type this, he is having trouble getting anyone to try one! C'mon people, don't FEAR THE BACON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States