Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
mixed feelings from my tasters on this one so I'm giving a 4. Great fun though and actually quite edible - just cook the bacon very crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Living In: Tuolumne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I didn't expect the outcome will be so moist since the cake mixture is so liquid. Someone said that I was a genius :) Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Harte
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
These are fabulous! The dark chocolate tastes great with the bacon. I sprinkled shaved white chocolate over the tops instead of the cocoa. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Add maple flavouring to punch up the syrup content. A little dry, throw some instant pudding in the mix for a moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Wonderful Recipe! Very easy to prepare, and the end product is absolutely delicious! Watch your cupcakes- mine only took 15 minutes to bake, any longer and the cakes would have been crumbly and dry. As for the batter being hard to work with, be prepared, it is a thin batter, but a measuring cup with a spout works well to dish it out. I added mini chocolate chips to my cakes (if you add chips be sure to spray the paper liners with a bit of cooking spray), and I sprinkled a little sea salt on top of the frosting in addition to the bacon. Be sure to really cook the bacon, you want it crispy. And when you chop it, think Bac'os, really small. I know I had a lot of input, but most of what I came up with were from suggestions from other reviewers. Like another reviewer I also used the creamy chocolate frosting recipe, and it pairs perfectly with these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I have to agree with the reviewers that said the bacon pieces were odd little bits when eating the cupcake. The cupcake recipe was good, but the bacon added nothing. I wish the bacon flavor was still there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissPujols
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
***EXCEPTiONAL*** Do not let the Bacon scare you. I am not a huge fan of bacon due to texture, taste & fat content. However, the boyfriend - is a big carnivore and a huge fan. Again, this cupcake is deceivingly delish. The cake itself, is full of depth, is extremely rich and has a heavenly moistness to it. The coffee is simply an amplifier to the deep chocolate presence. Chop the bacon well - this will ***pay off! When you take the plunge into the gorgeous moist chocolate, you will find a surprisingly salty pop to some bites. The bacon does this so well and you don't even know it yet! Again, I was extremely apprehensive about this cake! Bacon + Chocolate = ??! I assure you ---you will love it!!! And for those chocolate lovers, this batter minus the bacon is the PERFECT dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPujols

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
WOW! HEAVENLY!! I did not process my bacon, just cooked it crisp and crumbled well by hand. There were a few larger pieces, but actually they were wonderful within the cupcake. I'm not a frosting person, almost didn't frost them at all, but went ahead and tried the Rich Chocolate Frosting on this site and that just sent me into Pure Chocolate Bacon BLISS! (for the people who are ending up with dry cake - don't use a mixer, just "stir" as the recipe instructs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
i love bacon and i love chocolate, these were very delicious and came out moist. i didnt have buttermilk so i used the powdered kind cause im military in korea and buttermilk is hard to find. i will make these again. i didnt have frosting either and they were great as is. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annettelovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I was a little disappointed with these, because I don't taste bacon AT ALL, not even the slightest hint of it, so it seems like a waste of money to have added that ingredient. Maybe the recipe author meant to use thick-sliced bacon? The cupcakes didn't rise very well, either, and every one of them looked like I poked my finger in the middle of it. Fortunately, I was able to cover that defect up with frosting. Also, they stuck to the paper liners really badly and fell apart when we peeled the papers off, so they were pretty messy to eat. The cakes themselves are very moist and have a good chocolate flavor, so I'll probably attempt this recipe at least one more time using thick-cut bacon and probably adding a little more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States