Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Really good!!! Both of my favorite foods in one! My friends thought it was gross at first, but once they tried them, they loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly4427

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great cupcake (left out bacon.. was out of it), and cut the sugars down to 1 cup because I knew I'd be frosting them. It makes exactly 24 cupcakes, and be sure to fill them only 1/2.. to barely more full, because they do rise. I only baked mine for 18 minutes, and they were definitely done. I'd probably go for 15 minutes, next time, to keep them more moist. The only issue I had was they sort of sticked a bit to the cupcake liner. Although, that could just be me.. as it happens to me often! :-D All in all, I'll be making these again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
AWESOME!! I made these cupcakes my family and friendss couldnt get enough of them. I also made a batch without bacon, for the skeptics, and they were also a huge hit too! I have done a lot of baking and I believe a high quality cocoa is esssential!! I made a chocolate granache buttercream icing that was to die for. It complemented the cake perfectly. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The bacon was okay but the rest of the cupcake itself was AMAZING, I have never had a lighter tasting moist homemade cupcake ever, I made them again for my daughters class without the bacon and they all gobbled up the cupcakes. this is my new favorite cake recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Harris

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
After reading a lot of favorable reviews, my curiousity was high as to see whether bacon and chocolate really do go well together. After consuming and letting about 15 friends try as well - the final consensus is *FAIL*. These make a great plain chocolate cupcake, the coffee adds a nice subtle flavor. The bacon, even when chopped very fine, is so subtle that it's not worth all the effort. People would not have known I had put bacon in it if I hadn't told them - they all said it just had a 'different' taste. And if you do get a slight chunk of something, it throws off the whole yummy taste of what a chocolate cupcake should be. So, overall - leave out the bacon, and you've got a good chocolate cupcake. I prefer the Brownie Batter + Cupcake Recipe - Now THAT"S a good cupcake that had people begging for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morgan
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
WOW. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and used the Rich Chocolate Frosting recipe on the site.. AMAZING. The cupcakes came out so moist and delicious.. and the RICH chocolate icing with the salty crunch on top.. awesome combination. Even if you're not a fan of bacon, I'm sure these cupcakes would be FANTASTIC without the bacon. So worth your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PJanzen
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Loved this recipe! I followed almost to a T, save listening to other reviewers and using my food processor for the bacon and substituting half-salt in place of sea salt. Everyone who had one couldn't believe that there was bacon in them, or that they tasted so good. Will DEFINITELY make again! When made according to directions, will make 2 dozen mini's and 1.5 dozen regular size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJanzen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
i have a question,is the coffee a must add?or can i make it without?may the coffee be substituted with coca cola?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Everyone loved this cake. I give it 4 stars only because I didn't really taste the bacon inside, only the delicious crumbles on top, which I doubled in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
mixed feelings from my tasters on this one so I'm giving a 4. Great fun though and actually quite edible - just cook the bacon very crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Living In: Tuolumne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States