Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I found the batter to be extremely runny, the cupcakes collapsed in the middle so they look like little craters, and they are crunchy on top. I hate to toss out what could be a great idea. I'd like to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These were excellent. The cake was moist and dense. Perfect. My mother-in-law informed me it was the best cupcake she's ever had & my husband adored them. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mihunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
If I could put bacon in everything I eat, I would. The first time around with this recipe I followed exactly, but made a chocolate frosting from a health food store. It didn't do the cupcakes justice, so next time I saved the bacon grease and added it to cream cheese frosting...OH MY! ridiculous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Wow! These were a really fun/funny!! I was a little concerned about the batter being so runny but after the first batch came out I knew they'd be fine. One note to readers is to use a pourable container to pour the batter into the cups and make sure to fill only 2/3rds full as they rise quite a bit! I'm gonna take them into work tomorrow and I'm sure my coworkers will get a kick out of them! My family really liked them. I thought it was the perfect marriage of salty/sweet. Wouldn't have been as rich of a flavour without the coffee so don't skip on the recipe! I didn't have any buttermilk on hand so I used 1 Tbls. White vinegar to 1 scant cup of milk and let sit for 5 min before using. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vividwonder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Oh my goodness!! I made these for my sister for her birthday and I used dark cocoa powder - I was a little concerned when the batter looked almost black and the cupcakes (baked for 20 mins) were very dark. I made half with bacon and half without. I used my own chocolate fudge frosting recipe with the dark cocoa, sprinkled a little sea salt and bacon crumbles on the tops of the bacon ones - they were UNBELIEVABLE!! My sister was soooo excited!! For the buttermilk, I did substitute 1T vinegar in a 1 cup measuring cup, and added milk to fill up to the top - let it sit 5 mins. I did process the bacon - there were some larger crumbles and some much smaller. This was a wonderful, unique recipe - thank you for sharing!!!! Will be making again and again!(with and without bacon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
*Customized* Tried without the bacon, and changed cocoa to 1 cup , omitted salt and cut back to 1 1/2 t baking soda(seemed like too much with the buttermilk) rose up beautifully nice and moist similar to Texas Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Coffee actually enhances the flavor of the chocolate. Makes for a richer chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Really good!!! Both of my favorite foods in one! My friends thought it was gross at first, but once they tried them, they loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly4427

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great cupcake (left out bacon.. was out of it), and cut the sugars down to 1 cup because I knew I'd be frosting them. It makes exactly 24 cupcakes, and be sure to fill them only 1/2.. to barely more full, because they do rise. I only baked mine for 18 minutes, and they were definitely done. I'd probably go for 15 minutes, next time, to keep them more moist. The only issue I had was they sort of sticked a bit to the cupcake liner. Although, that could just be me.. as it happens to me often! :-D All in all, I'll be making these again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
AWESOME!! I made these cupcakes my family and friendss couldnt get enough of them. I also made a batch without bacon, for the skeptics, and they were also a huge hit too! I have done a lot of baking and I believe a high quality cocoa is esssential!! I made a chocolate granache buttercream icing that was to die for. It complemented the cake perfectly. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States