Dark Carrot Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
These were not quite what I expected, but definitely tasty. I made a few revisions: I plumped the raisins in warm water before adding, added chopped pecans, and increased the cinnamon to a teaspoon. Next time, I'll increase the other spices as well, and try to use more applesauce and less oil. They are not too sweet, a lot of carrot texture, without a lot of muffin, cakelike texture. DEFINITELY spray the muffin tin or liners, the muffins tend to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
These muffins were great. I have been looking for a great tasting healthy breakfast muffin for a long time, and now my search is over! I did make a few adjustments - I doubled each spice ingredient (per other reviews) and I doubled the applesouce and halved the veggie oil. Not too sweet and the longer they sit (so the flavors can meld) the better they get!! Love this recipe. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made these for the kids at the school that I work at...although the were very hearty and healthy, the kids did not care for them (maybe because they WERE hearty and healthy)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Oh My Gosh! These muffins turned out so yummy - I just ate 3 in a row! I would highly recommend spraying the muffins tins/cups with oil as my muffins got stuck to the paper cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I really like these muffins! The only thing I did differently was add a little wheat germ on top of the muffins before they baked...just a little something extra. Very good flavor, very moist. They freeze well too - a plus, since I'm usually the only one to eat muffins in my house. Just take one out of the freezer and defrost in the microwave for a few seconds...presto! Instant breakfast! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I really like these because you can make them very healthy. I used only 1/4 c. raisins and added extra carrot. I made sure to squeeze the water out of the carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
i found this while searching for something to use up carrots. GREAT RECIPE! the only thing i changed was adding more of the spices, along with cardamom, and i had to make sour milk bc i had no buttermilk. i was brave and tried a double recipe--excellent!!i thought they were very sweet. the mini muffins turned out perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
These muffins are healthier than the ones I usually make, due to the whole wheat flour and honey, however....perhaps equal amounts of whole wheat and regular flour would make them a bit lighter. A nice muffin overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These were ok. They are kinda bland by themselves but we enjoyed them with cream cheese. Probably won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Good, hearty muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States