Dark Carrot Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
They are weak on flavor, the batter was super stiff and cooked up dense like hockey pucks. It needs salt, it doesn't taste like carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I have been making this recipe every month for 4 years. Tried and true. The only difference I make is double the seasoning of nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves. Personally, 1/4 tsp is not enough. Secondly ALWAYS PLUMP YOUR RAISINS! There isn't much oil or fat in this, so plump the raisins to add moisture. While you are getting the recipe together, pour boiling water over your raisins just to cover. Once you are ready for them, drain the water and use the raisins. Trust me, the extra water helps keep them from being dry. Also, I have moved three times and each oven I use has required a different baking time for this recipe. Generally they are ready in 16-17 min. Oh, and I only ever make these as mini muffins. Beware, the recipe will make about 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Everydaywonders
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great muffins. light, fluffy and moist. I used soured milk because I didn't have buttermilk, and I used 1.5 tbsp unsalted butter because i didn't have any applesauce. I doubled the spice quantities and added cardamom. My yield came to 16 muffins with 187 calories each. Thank you for a great recipe. WIll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was a very nice muffin that rose very well. I think these would only be considered "too dense" by those used to eating cake-like muffins. My kids really enjoyed them. I did add a bit more salt, as 1/8 tsp simply isn't enough, and that lack of salt may have contributed to the "bland" flavour other reviewers mention. To make them taste a little closer to carrot cake, you will need to triple (at least) the spices, but for a nice, lightly spiced muffin, doubling the spices is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doitmyselfmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Not something I will try again! They came out the consistency of rubber pucks and I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These were ok. They are kinda bland by themselves but we enjoyed them with cream cheese. Probably won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I've tried alot of muffin recipes and thought this one to be exceptional. I think of a muffin as a healthier version of a cupcake. So, if I want desert, I'll make cupcakes. This was slightly dense and quite moist. I subbed blueberries for the raisins, added 1/2 c nuts, and sprinkled the top with a little carmel sprinkle from pampered chef. They were over-the-top good. Kids loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Good, hearty muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These were really, really bland, even though I doubled the spices per other reviews. On the positive side, they were wonderfully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Really not a fan. First time I've made something with a 4 star rating that turned out to not be so good. I didn't have whole wheat flour, so I used all white, maybe this was the difference? But I found them spongy and hard to get cooked all the way through. They looked nice coming out of the oven (though I don't know where the "dark" is supposed to come from), but as soon as they started cooling they completely shrank. Kids like them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States