Dark Carrot Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Oh My Gosh! These muffins turned out so yummy - I just ate 3 in a row! I would highly recommend spraying the muffins tins/cups with oil as my muffins got stuck to the paper cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
These muffins were great. I have been looking for a great tasting healthy breakfast muffin for a long time, and now my search is over! I did make a few adjustments - I doubled each spice ingredient (per other reviews) and I doubled the applesouce and halved the veggie oil. Not too sweet and the longer they sit (so the flavors can meld) the better they get!! Love this recipe. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I just made these as a 'Birthday Cake' for my little friend who just turned 1. I did soak the raisins (habit) and used OJ instead of applesauce (didn't have any). For those who aren't accustomed to a high-sugar diet, the raisins and honey make this recipe plenty sweet enough. I sweetened cream-cheese with a tiny bit of honey for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
i found this while searching for something to use up carrots. GREAT RECIPE! the only thing i changed was adding more of the spices, along with cardamom, and i had to make sour milk bc i had no buttermilk. i was brave and tried a double recipe--excellent!!i thought they were very sweet. the mini muffins turned out perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I loved 'em! I made them for my dad for Father's Day and he said they were just like his mom used to make! I also doubled the spices as suggested and they turned out simply fantastic! Maybe a little more raisins next time though. Oh, and I plumped my raisins in warm water before adding them as well and they were plump and remarkably juicy! Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarron Fabbricino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Good, hearty muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I've tried alot of muffin recipes and thought this one to be exceptional. I think of a muffin as a healthier version of a cupcake. So, if I want desert, I'll make cupcakes. This was slightly dense and quite moist. I subbed blueberries for the raisins, added 1/2 c nuts, and sprinkled the top with a little carmel sprinkle from pampered chef. They were over-the-top good. Kids loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These are yummy! They were gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I really like these because you can make them very healthy. I used only 1/4 c. raisins and added extra carrot. I made sure to squeeze the water out of the carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I really like these muffins! The only thing I did differently was add a little wheat germ on top of the muffins before they baked...just a little something extra. Very good flavor, very moist. They freeze well too - a plus, since I'm usually the only one to eat muffins in my house. Just take one out of the freezer and defrost in the microwave for a few seconds...presto! Instant breakfast! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States