Dark Carrot Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made these for the kids at the school that I work at...although the were very hearty and healthy, the kids did not care for them (maybe because they WERE hearty and healthy)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These are yummy! They were gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I just made these as a 'Birthday Cake' for my little friend who just turned 1. I did soak the raisins (habit) and used OJ instead of applesauce (didn't have any). For those who aren't accustomed to a high-sugar diet, the raisins and honey make this recipe plenty sweet enough. I sweetened cream-cheese with a tiny bit of honey for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I loved 'em! I made them for my dad for Father's Day and he said they were just like his mom used to make! I also doubled the spices as suggested and they turned out simply fantastic! Maybe a little more raisins next time though. Oh, and I plumped my raisins in warm water before adding them as well and they were plump and remarkably juicy! Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarron Fabbricino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
i found this while searching for something to use up carrots. GREAT RECIPE! the only thing i changed was adding more of the spices, along with cardamom, and i had to make sour milk bc i had no buttermilk. i was brave and tried a double recipe--excellent!!i thought they were very sweet. the mini muffins turned out perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Hmm. I modified these & they were not so great. I thought I had wheat flour but didn't so used half regular & half sorghum flour. I then expected a more cake-like muffin & got it. I also used the bagged shredded carrots, about which I was conflicted, and I was right: they needed to be shred finer. Several reviewers stated that they stick to the pan so I used paper muffin cups, and they stuck to those also. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
These muffins are healthier than the ones I usually make, due to the whole wheat flour and honey, however....perhaps equal amounts of whole wheat and regular flour would make them a bit lighter. A nice muffin overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I really like these muffins! The only thing I did differently was add a little wheat germ on top of the muffins before they baked...just a little something extra. Very good flavor, very moist. They freeze well too - a plus, since I'm usually the only one to eat muffins in my house. Just take one out of the freezer and defrost in the microwave for a few seconds...presto! Instant breakfast! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
these were awful, tasteless even though I doubled the cinnamon and added 1/2 tsp of almond extract I ended up trashing the whole batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
These muffins were great. I have been looking for a great tasting healthy breakfast muffin for a long time, and now my search is over! I did make a few adjustments - I doubled each spice ingredient (per other reviews) and I doubled the applesouce and halved the veggie oil. Not too sweet and the longer they sit (so the flavors can meld) the better they get!! Love this recipe. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States