Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made the beef stroganoff for dinner the other day and. I forgot the sour cream and we loved it even without , so delicious, thank you for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mannheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was excellent. I made it exactly as stated and my only complaint is that it was all gone! Next time I may double the sauce to make it go a little further so I can have some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best stroganoff EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
5 stars using the modifications suggested by others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was my first attempt at this dish. My family was incredibly tentative to try it because they had made it for years and me being the daughter of "gourmets" (tsk) but I gave them no choice! It looked easy enough and so I gave it a go. They LOVED it so much I am making it as we speak just one week later and I am surrounded by adoring fans. Thank you so much for putting this up! I make it EXACTLY like Daria with one teensy exception. I cut the white wine in half this time. Bon Apetit and thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Not bad! My hubs doesn't even care for stroganoff and commented that this was better than his mom's recipe!!! Having said this, I did make several changes (I know...). Using Sara's review as a guide, I too used beef stew meat instead of round steak, upped the amount of W sauce to 1 T, doubled up on the garlic, added an entire (small) onion, substituted 1/2 c. RED wine for the 1/4 c. water / white wine called for and decreased the sour cream to 8 oz. worth. In addition to these changes, I made a couple of my own. :) In lieu of a beef bouillion cube, I substituted a packet of beefy onion soup mix. I also added 4 oz. of spreadable onion & chive flavored cream cheese (half a container) rather than plain 'ol cream cheese and ommitted the mushrooms alltogether (we aren't big fans). These changes were spot on for us. My only complaint is that my sauce was a tad too thick and too tangy for my liking (I'll cut back on the sc even more next time). While I don't like runny sauces, I think mine could have used more liquid. Many reviewers added fresh mushrooms during the final hour of cooking. Mushrooms release mositure as they cook, so that's prolly why those folks had no issue with their sauce (or on the flipside, added flour or cornstarch to compensate). FINAL NOTE: Feel free to use fat-free / reduced sodium ingredients. I used ff / low sodium soup & ff sc / cream cheese with EXCELLENT results! Served over egg noodles w/ peas & garlic bread on the side. Thanks for sharing, Daria! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was very easy to make, but I did double all the ingredients like another reviewer suggested. Family loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Four stars, since I made my own modifications per other reviewers' feedback. Used precut stew meat which I seasoned w Montreal steak seasoning, salt and pepper. I didn't add the worcestershire sauce only because I didn't have it on hand, and I used only 8 oz of sour cream, which I whisked in during the last 30 mins of slow cooking. Any more sour cream would probably have been too much and overwhelm the other flavors. Instead of canned mushrooms, I sautéed baby portabellas, dried thyme, and added to the crock for the last 30 mins. I found the sauce a little too thin for our liking, and used a few sprinkles of wondra flour to thicken it slightly. Served over wide egg noodles, my husband really enjoyed it, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My family really enjoyed this - as suggested used beef stew meat, whole onion, fresh shrooms, fresh chives, 3oz sour cream, couple dollups of sour cream. I used the white wine instead of water throughout and it came out great. In crockpot for about 10 1/2 hours on low and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
My neighbors asked what was cooking. This smelled so delicious that I had a hard time waiting the full 6 hours to eat it. I managed to control myself and it was worth the wait. I'm giving this 4 stars only because the recipe as written is a little 'off' with the flavor and it's too much liquid for the amount of meat. I made adjustments based on other comments (red wine instead of white, a little cornstarch, fresh mushrooms, etc). I also seasoned it a bit more because I like bold flavors. We had some leftovers that went uneaten, but I won't hold it against the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States