Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made this in a hurry and set the crock pot on high for 3 1/2 hrs and it came out great! I used the stew meat I had on hand and cut it up into small pieces. Didn't have wine at all but you couldn't tell. It turned out great! Thanks so much!! Made the house smell so wonderful even my dogs were begging for some!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very good - I didn't think I'd like it as I usually bypass cream-of-soup based recipes, but the whole family liked this. I used fresh mushrooms and added them closer to the end. Also used beef broth in stead of boullion & water. The meat came out perfectly for me. And how can you go wrong with 16 oz of sour cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was just average. My kids didn't care for the texture of the steak after being in the crock pot for 6 hours. They asked me to never make it again and please make my other beef stroganoff recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This recipe was very delicious! The only thing i did different was I do like my sauce a little thinker... so I added a half can of beef Concemme and 2 Tlb. of Flour... Will definitely make this again and again!!! Kids Loved it!! Thanks Daria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Penning-Westlake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made the beef stroganoff for dinner the other day and. I forgot the sour cream and we loved it even without , so delicious, thank you for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mannheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was excellent. I made it exactly as stated and my only complaint is that it was all gone! Next time I may double the sauce to make it go a little further so I can have some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best stroganoff EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
5 stars using the modifications suggested by others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was my first attempt at this dish. My family was incredibly tentative to try it because they had made it for years and me being the daughter of "gourmets" (tsk) but I gave them no choice! It looked easy enough and so I gave it a go. They LOVED it so much I am making it as we speak just one week later and I am surrounded by adoring fans. Thank you so much for putting this up! I make it EXACTLY like Daria with one teensy exception. I cut the white wine in half this time. Bon Apetit and thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Not bad! My hubs doesn't even care for stroganoff and commented that this was better than his mom's recipe!!! Having said this, I did make several changes (I know...). Using Sara's review as a guide, I too used beef stew meat instead of round steak, upped the amount of W sauce to 1 T, doubled up on the garlic, added an entire (small) onion, substituted 1/2 c. RED wine for the 1/4 c. water / white wine called for and decreased the sour cream to 8 oz. worth. In addition to these changes, I made a couple of my own. :) In lieu of a beef bouillion cube, I substituted a packet of beefy onion soup mix. I also added 4 oz. of spreadable onion & chive flavored cream cheese (half a container) rather than plain 'ol cream cheese and ommitted the mushrooms alltogether (we aren't big fans). These changes were spot on for us. My only complaint is that my sauce was a tad too thick and too tangy for my liking (I'll cut back on the sc even more next time). While I don't like runny sauces, I think mine could have used more liquid. Many reviewers added fresh mushrooms during the final hour of cooking. Mushrooms release mositure as they cook, so that's prolly why those folks had no issue with their sauce (or on the flipside, added flour or cornstarch to compensate). FINAL NOTE: Feel free to use fat-free / reduced sodium ingredients. I used ff / low sodium soup & ff sc / cream cheese with EXCELLENT results! Served over egg noodles w/ peas & garlic bread on the side. Thanks for sharing, Daria! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States