Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Good base recipe - but I had to change so many things to make it perfect (and succeeded after several tries). Therefore, can only give it 3 stars. I used beef stew meat instead of top round steak, a whole onion instead of half, 8 ounces of fresh mushrooms instead of canned, 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1, a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce instead of just a teaspoon, 1/2 cup of red wine instead of 1/4 cup of white wine and 1/4 cup of water, a tablespoon of cornstarch in addition to the flour, just 8 ounces of sour cream instead of 16, and added 4 ounces of cream cheese. I followed the same directions, except adding the fresh mushrooms at the end for just the last hour of cooking. So, after all of those changes - it has become THE Stroganoff recipe for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
922 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Soooo good! I dissolved the beef bouillon in 1 Tbl. water before adding. I used 1/2 the sour cream, as others suggested (light or fat-free sour cream works just fine), and it was perfect! I also used a package of fresh mushrooms, layered last on the top. Mine needed to cook only 5 hours on low. My preference is thickly sliced onions, instead of chopped ones, and to stir in the sour cream just before serving. Serve on a platter with egg noodles around the edges, and the beef stroganoff in the middle - very pretty display. Steamed broccoli goes well with this dish. One note: I made this once with double the meat, so I doubled the sauce ingredients -- bad idea! It had WAY too much liquid. Next time I double the meat, I will leave the other ingredients as stated. Note: After reading another review, I decided to sprinkle the meat with garlic powder as well, increase the Worcestershire to 1 Tbl., increase the garlic to 2 cloves, leave off the bouillon and water, increase the wine to 1/2 cup, and add 1 Tbl. cornstarch in addition to the flour (I mixed it with the wine). All WONDERFUL suggestions. Big difference in the flavor & thickness of the sauce (had been too watery before). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This is an excellent base recipe. I made quite a few changes, and it turned out great. The cut of meat should probably be beef stewing meat, it does better than a lean cut in a slow cooker. I used fresh mushrooms, green onions instead of chives, beef broth in place of bouillon and wine, and only used 8 oz. sour cream. To thicken it up more, I added 4 oz. cream cheese with the sour cream, and I also boiled my noodles til al dente' and added them to the crock. After an hour, it was the perfect consistency. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
My family LOVED this. My husband called it "restaurant quality." From a slow cooker!! I read all the comments and proceeded like this: I used London broil cuz that's what i always use for stroganoff. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I used red wine in place of the white wine and water; beef needs red wine, not white. I opted for the suggestion to replace the sour cream with 4 oz. of cream cheese and 8 oz. of sour cream (added 30 minutes before serving). I whisked a couple of tablespoons of cornstarch with some of the sauce and whisked that mixture back into the pot right before the addition of the sour cream/cream cheese. The sauce ended with a perfect consistency and exceptional flavor. I served it with a spinach salad. This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This was quite good! I miss the meaty, floured and pan-fried taste of the traditional stroganoff but the sauce was just excellent. My husband, the traditional stroganoff fan said, "This is savory stuff you've made here." The last time I tried a crock pot stroganoff dish he wasn't thrilled with it. But I've learned to recognize when a recipe doesn't have enough spices for us and to add more in. With this recipe I added a couple shakes of minced onions, garlic salt, Lawry's seasoned salt, and garlic powder. I went heavy on the pepper and it turned out just right. I used 2 tsp beef boullion granules (not sure if that's equal to a cube but it worked), 2 tsp worcestershire, chicken stock instead of water and wine, and a little dash of old champagne because I didn't have white wine handy. Used small can of mushrooms as well as 8oz pkg fresh mushrooms. That works out really well if you're a mushroom lover like us. Doubled the minced garlic to two cloves. May bring it down to just one next time since I also sprinkle garlic powder. Definitely taste the sauce before you let it simmer for 8 hours. If it doesn't have enough flavor, add more spices in upfront. We used about 12oz sour cream. My husband likes the taste of sour cream. I asked him if he'd like more and he said it was perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This is a great recipe! I did make changes to it to fit our lifestyle. I substituted eye of round for the meat. I substituted 4 large fresh Portobello mushrooms for the canned. I also substituted lite sour cream for the full-fat (cuts down on the fat content tremendously!). To help with the extra moisture created by the fresh mushrooms, I mixed about 1 tablespoon of corn starch with the wine before adding to the crock pot. I make this often, especially in the colder months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I used stewing beef for this recipe which i had soaked in about a 1/4 cup of red wine first..i used beef broth instead of the bouillon and a little less sour cream, i had fresh mushrooms on hand as well as canned..the fresh mushrooms are the way to go ..big difference...it turned out very well..with the cheaper stewing beef coming out very tender!! will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This is amazing. I sauted the onions and mushrooms before adding to the pot and I added a half package of Lipton onion soup mix. I already want to make this again, everyone in the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
Will make again, using less sour cream. The cream cheese idea in the other reviews was a good one, will try that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
The flavor was good but the sauce was very runny. My family thought it was pretty good. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States