Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was very easy to make, but I did double all the ingredients like another reviewer suggested. Family loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Four stars, since I made my own modifications per other reviewers' feedback. Used precut stew meat which I seasoned w Montreal steak seasoning, salt and pepper. I didn't add the worcestershire sauce only because I didn't have it on hand, and I used only 8 oz of sour cream, which I whisked in during the last 30 mins of slow cooking. Any more sour cream would probably have been too much and overwhelm the other flavors. Instead of canned mushrooms, I sautéed baby portabellas, dried thyme, and added to the crock for the last 30 mins. I found the sauce a little too thin for our liking, and used a few sprinkles of wondra flour to thicken it slightly. Served over wide egg noodles, my husband really enjoyed it, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My family really enjoyed this - as suggested used beef stew meat, whole onion, fresh shrooms, fresh chives, 3oz sour cream, couple dollups of sour cream. I used the white wine instead of water throughout and it came out great. In crockpot for about 10 1/2 hours on low and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
My neighbors asked what was cooking. This smelled so delicious that I had a hard time waiting the full 6 hours to eat it. I managed to control myself and it was worth the wait. I'm giving this 4 stars only because the recipe as written is a little 'off' with the flavor and it's too much liquid for the amount of meat. I made adjustments based on other comments (red wine instead of white, a little cornstarch, fresh mushrooms, etc). I also seasoned it a bit more because I like bold flavors. We had some leftovers that went uneaten, but I won't hold it against the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Love this! Thanks for sharing. the changes I made were to use beef stew meat, red wine, and I swap about half of the sour cream for about 2 oz. cream cheese. Just simple, homey flavors that I love and WAY easier than my mom's stove top version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Unfortunately, even though I incorporated all the suggestions from other reviewers, this still lacked flavor. I doubled the amount of onion, but the onion needs to be sauteed before putting in the slow cooker because it came out crunchy. I used golden mushroom soup like others suggested, and I doubled the amount of wine (and used red instead of white). I tripled the worchestershire sauce and garlic. I used beef stew meat and seaoned salt, and I used 8 oz. of sour cream and added 4 oz. of cream cheese during the last hour of cooking per others' suggestions. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Still it lacked flavor and the meat was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Family favorite! I used beef stock in place of water & boullion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Honestly, this recipe was pretty average. The sauce was really watery and the recipe called for way too much sour cream. This method was definitely easier to make up and leave all day in the slow cooker, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Suggest using as small as crock as possible (my 6 qt was too big) otherwise it will cook too fast and the consistency will be closer to a chunky soup than stroganhoff. Also, I would recommend cutting back on the sour cream to about half. Extremely easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Easy to prepare and taste was superb!! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States