Darbey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Unfortunately, the most important piece of information is in the recipe description and not in the recipe itself -- you must use only 2 loaves of frozen bread dough, not 1 3-lb. package as the recipe states. My bread not only outgrew a 9x9 pan, but a 9x13 pan as well and was not done in the specified time since there was an extra loaf of bread in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
This was a great comfort bread! I made with a large pot of chili and had my family over - they loved it! I added herbs de provence and it turned out fantastic. I will make this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmobrien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
This bread is really good, but I think it'd be even better with additional cheese sprinkled generously over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This had good flavor, but needed much more cooking time than is alloted. Mine was still doughy when the timer went off. Next time I would decrease the oil, too...it could have done with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I made a half recipe to go with Beef Stew, and subbed a tsp. of minced garlic for the onion. While it was good, I don't think it was great. There seemed to be a lot of oil left bubbling up in between the risen bread in the pan, making the bottom of the bread rather soggy. I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Young and old loved this recipe. A great hit for Mother's Day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
This bread was a hit with my family although the recipe was not clear on preperation. Also,it came out raw in the center, but once it was cooked, it was really delicious. I might try the bacon next time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
My boyfriend thought it went really well with lasagna. It looks pretty in the pan... unusual. I didn't have any onions on hand, but it tasted fine. I'll add the bacon next time, if I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
This recipe was greatly loved by everyone from Grandma to my toddling nephew, and one can easily vary the cheese and spices for different flavors!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Very easy. I used chopped garlic intead of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States