Darbey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Yummy!! On a snowy day with some hot soup this bread hit the spot! I was out of eggs so went without and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is a great recipe! Thank you Gina for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I think this would be better using only two loaves of bread instead of three. After 35 minutes of baking, it rose up way over the top of my pan and the middle was very gooey and raw. The cooked ends tasted delicious, so I'll try this again using the two loaves instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This reminded me of something I used to make when i was studying baking and pastry arts in school. I used green onions instead of regular onions and I also put it in muffin tins instead of a square pan. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I made a half recipe which was plenty for our family (with leftovers). The final taste was good, but I wondered when I was making it because the dough never rose. I cut up the dough, sauteed the onions with some garlic and italian spices and mixed all together with two kinds of shredded cheeses and some bacon. The flavors mixed well together and tasted a little like a good pizza dough. I didn't give it 5 stars only because it wasn't fabulous. Thanks for the recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I have made this bread many times and it is wonderful. It is really easy to change the recipe and make it your own as well! Wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This was pretty good I'm giving it 3 1/2 stars. I only made half a recipe(1 loaf frozen bread dough) and per other reviews, decreased the oil. Also, I baked it in a 9x11 pan and covered it when the top started to brown, it cooed through fine this way. I didnt have bacon, but I'm sure that would bring it up to 5 starts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
What a disaster! I'm giving this two stars instead of zero b/c it may be my fault or my bread but this turned out terrible. We ended up never having a bite. It smelled wonderful but it looked like thawed chicken with some spices. What wasn't cooked hard like a rock was gooey. What do you do? Risk overcooking the hard ones to cook the doughy peices or pull it out and pick out the doughy peices? I even reduced the olive oil. Either way it was inediable. Sorry Gina - it just didn't turn out for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Yikes! I NEVER use commercially frozen bread dough, but I wanted to see how this compared with using my own dough. Well, to tell the truth, none of us could tell the difference! I guess this recipe has so many goodies in it that it covered the taste of the bread dough. I added bacon, increased the cheese, but cut the olive oil to a quick spray with olive oil flavored cooking spray. Yummy! Thanks Gina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
great with salad even on salad great with any meal one of my favorites !!!!!!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States