Dan's Old Fashioned White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is by far the best bread recipe I have used. I made in my bread machine using the technique used in the Best Bread Machine Bread recipe to add the ingredients. Other than that I went strictly with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
a very good recipe I searched for awhile until I found the one I thought would be best for us and without a doubt I am happy with it and best of all my wife loved it immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Thank You Dan.. ;0).. Have been on a bread making kick lately. Tried this recipe out but made it into buns. I used regular flour, Buckwheat Honey and quick rising yeast. After rising I halved the dough. I rolled each half into a 14 x 10 rectangle and brushed it with melted butter. After rolling it up lengthwise and pinching the seam closed, I cut each roll into 12 pieces and placed cut side down into large greased muffin tins. The results were wonderful. Difficult keeping my husband away from them.. ;0).. Yield - 24 delicious buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
great recipe! like the other poster I need to extend the time on my oven by 10 minutes. reminds me of sweet bread from home in hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kafusfv
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe the other night and it really came out great. The consistency of the bread was soft and mildly dense. It taste like a hardy white bread. I have it with butter and it's fantasic. I brushed the loaves with a little bit of butter to give it a nice glaze. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
it turned out good. wish I had the proper loaf pans it kinda came out lopsided but who cares? :)I used a little extra flour cause the dough was sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
have made this bread five or six times now and everyone here loves it. we like the bit of sweetness, and it makes excellent toast, french toast, and also sandwich bread (although it can fall apart a bit unless you toast it). i have experimented with using 1/2 or all buttermilk for the milk with great results too. thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Thank you for including HOW to "test for done"! I am new to bread making in I was a bit confounded by that statement on other recipes. Now I now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is a nice, slightly sweet basic white bread recipe which is exactly what I was looking for. I did make a change using dry milk and water in place of the milk. I'm just not a huge fan of the heating/cooling thing with the milk and prefer to just get the water at the right temp from the get go. It's a laziness thing (or just efficiency) I'm sure. I did this in my KA mixer. Tossed in the water, yeast and a little of the sugar, let it foam (maybe 10 mins) and then added everything else except the final cup of flour. Put the dough hook on and let the KA do all the work. When it comes together, I add the final flour a little at a time until the dough pulls away from the side of the bowl. Once its good, I let it knead for me on speed 2 for about 7 minutes. Then you can pick up in about the middle of step 3 here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This recipe made two of the most delicious loaves of bread I've ever had! I've been trying to perfect homemade bread for a very long time and this recipe was fast, easy and wonderful! My family and neighbors raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States