Dan's Old Fashioned White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Amazingly sweet, fluffy, not dense. Perfect loaf, even though I had to bake it in our Kitchen Aid convection counter top oven!! I've made hundreds of loaves and this one seems to be the most substantial. Sweeter than most, but that's inherent in the recipe with lots of honey and sugar. I doubled the yeast packets ( I put two in) and it was a beautiful loaf with another in the freezer for later this week!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I was doubtful that this bread would turn out ok as I baked it and I was right. The teaspoon of yeast, I thought was not enough. However, I made the recipe as written assuming that sugar/honey would help the yeast to work better. It didn't. After 90 minutes into the second rise, the bread barely rose. At 2 hours, the bread reached the rim. It didn't have much oven spring. Also, it was too sweet for a white bread. It think this dough is better suited to cinnamon bread/rolls. I'm giving it 3 stars. However, I will try to make it again. Other factors may have been at play - mainly the cold weather. I will update the review then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is by far the best bread recipe I have used. I made in my bread machine using the technique used in the Best Bread Machine Bread recipe to add the ingredients. Other than that I went strictly with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
a very good recipe I searched for awhile until I found the one I thought would be best for us and without a doubt I am happy with it and best of all my wife loved it immediately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Thank You Dan.. ;0).. Have been on a bread making kick lately. Tried this recipe out but made it into buns. I used regular flour, Buckwheat Honey and quick rising yeast. After rising I halved the dough. I rolled each half into a 14 x 10 rectangle and brushed it with melted butter. After rolling it up lengthwise and pinching the seam closed, I cut each roll into 12 pieces and placed cut side down into large greased muffin tins. The results were wonderful. Difficult keeping my husband away from them.. ;0).. Yield - 24 delicious buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
great recipe! like the other poster I need to extend the time on my oven by 10 minutes. reminds me of sweet bread from home in hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kafusfv
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe the other night and it really came out great. The consistency of the bread was soft and mildly dense. It taste like a hardy white bread. I have it with butter and it's fantasic. I brushed the loaves with a little bit of butter to give it a nice glaze. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
it turned out good. wish I had the proper loaf pans it kinda came out lopsided but who cares? :)I used a little extra flour cause the dough was sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
have made this bread five or six times now and everyone here loves it. we like the bit of sweetness, and it makes excellent toast, french toast, and also sandwich bread (although it can fall apart a bit unless you toast it). i have experimented with using 1/2 or all buttermilk for the milk with great results too. thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Thank you for including HOW to "test for done"! I am new to bread making in I was a bit confounded by that statement on other recipes. Now I now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrisa Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States