Dan's Favorite Chicken Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I had friends over for an impromptu game night and decided to try out this recipe. My problem was I didn't want to spend the time to assemble 10 sandwiches. So this became an "assemble your own" party. I made everything separately. I grilled the chicken breasts and basted them with a garlic infused EVOO rather than BBQ sauce. (I put the BBQ sauce on the table as part of the assemble your own.) I cut up green and red peppers and a vidalia onion and grilled them while cooking the chicken. The other addition was that I offered flour tortillas as well as sub rolls. When it was time to eat I had a huge platter set out with all the ingredients and let everyone make their own. It was a big hit. Some observations. No one used the avocado. Almost everyone agreed that they would forgo the BBQ sauce. People were happiest with just the ranch dressing or in several cases, mayo. The grilled onions and peppers went great with this sandwich. And lastly, most people preferred the tortillas over the rolls. It gave the sandwich a much lighter taste. I will definitely make this again. If you do it this way, beware it is a LOT of prep work but once it was done I could enjoy my party along with everyone else instead of being stuck in the kitchen. Thanks Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I must agree with “by Reviewer” who asked why do some people come on here and write remarks like "way too much fat" blah, blah, blah without actually trying the recipe. Or why some people come on here and change the recipe so much that they've actually posted a new recipe? I made this sandwich for my slim and trim family one Saturday for lunch and we LOVED it! Then we went out and shopped for the week ‘til we dropped - in other words, we efficiently used up the calories. Still, I get so annoyed when I read reviews that complain about the ingredients being to fatty or high in calories. I want to read constructive reviews. I also get annoyed when these same people recreate the entire recipe. Why give a low rating if you don’t even know what the recipe tastes like? AND, if you made the recipe wrong why give it a low rating based on your mistakes? Can’t people just enjoy reading the recipes for what they are? And, if they make the recipe, then judge it on how it tastes. We ALL know how to lighten up foods and what we should and shouldn’t eat. Come on people, let’s be fair and judge a recipe for what it’s worth, and don’t redesign the entire thing - otherwise, post your own version of the recipe and see how YOU get criticized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry_vinigrette

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Awesome. I've made these several times. I had better luck when I mashed the avocado instead of using slices because the slices are so slippery. I made these for a party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I was not sure about the BBQ sauce/ranch dressing combo, but it works! I also mashed the avocado because I can then spread it on the bread for avocado in every bite, but that is not really a problem with this recipe... it's a very minor change! The combo of all the flavors is really good! The only change I made was to use a nice, crusty sourdough roll instead of the soft hoagie... and that really made it stellar! DH and I often eat only one meal on weekend days... so this sandwich is perfect because it fills us up and I don't worry about fixing a big dinner! Thanks, Angelshark...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I found this dish to be easy and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Delicious - I can see why this is "Dan's Favorite Sandwich"! My husband loves anything with bacon so this was a winning combination for us! I chose to grill the chicken instead of baking and basted it with a bit of KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce which made it moist and juicy. I cooked the bacon separate, toasted some kaiser rolls and added some fresh crisp lettuce and sliced tomato. The warmth from the grilled chicken melted the cheese and we didn't bother putting anything in the oven. These were perfect with some kettle cooked chips! Easy and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Yum yum yum! I cut recipe to make one sandwich. I made this as a melt on dark rye bread. I used my George Foreman grill to cook the chicken and cleaned it off to grill the sandwich. Was really good and filling too. Tasted like a sandwich you'd buy for $8 in a sit-down restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Made this tonight for myself, it was fantastic. Made a few variations for personal preference; I used potato bread instead of hoagie rolls, I just like the way it toasts up and absorbs all the oils; I cut one large chicken breast in half lengthwise, I thought it was the perfect amount; I'm not really an avocado person so I used tomato istead, it was a nice substitute I think; and I added a little hot sauce to the BBQ when glazing the chicken to give it a little kick. Take what you want leave what you don't. The original recipe is great, I just thought I'd change a few things for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My hubby loved this. I liked it, we'll make it again. I think when I do it again, I'll slice the chicken breasts and layer the slices on the bread - it will make it easier to eat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I had leftover grilled chicken to use for this sandwich. I used 9 grain petite bread, subbed fresh spinach in place of the avocado and mixed Bubba's BBQ sauce recipe with the Herbed Buttermilk Parmesan Dressing recipe. Nice summer sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States