Dan's Favorite Chicken Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Really really good! This was like some sandwich you might get at a restaurant. I added extra avocado, since I'm an avocado freak. Also I was out of ranch dressing, so I used the Ranch Dressing III recipe from this site (glad I did--I wont be buying ranch anymore!). Had only enough swiss cheese for part of them, so jack worked just fine for the remainder. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I was not sure about the BBQ sauce/ranch dressing combo, but it works! I also mashed the avocado because I can then spread it on the bread for avocado in every bite, but that is not really a problem with this recipe... it's a very minor change! The combo of all the flavors is really good! The only change I made was to use a nice, crusty sourdough roll instead of the soft hoagie... and that really made it stellar! DH and I often eat only one meal on weekend days... so this sandwich is perfect because it fills us up and I don't worry about fixing a big dinner! Thanks, Angelshark...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I had this for lunch but it was so filling, I doubt I'll be wanting any dinner tonight. The only changes I made were to cook the chicken on the Foreman grill, and I microwaved the bacon. Next time, I will omit the barbeque sauce - it didn't complement the Ranch dressing well. Other than that, this is a great sandwich. Thanks, Dan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This sandwich is delicious! Skipped on the avocado (didn't have one on hand), but it was so full of flavor it wouldn't have been missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I had leftover grilled chicken to use for this sandwich. I used 9 grain petite bread, subbed fresh spinach in place of the avocado and mixed Bubba's BBQ sauce recipe with the Herbed Buttermilk Parmesan Dressing recipe. Nice summer sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I really enjoyed this. Used all of the ingredients, but grilled the chicken. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monnik
Home Town: Alleman, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe - we made it for dinner and it was very good! The only modifications we made were to use mozzarella rather than Swiss, only because we had it on hand (I imagine it would be even better with Swiss). We cooked the chicken on the Foreman grill and bought fully cooked bacon. Next time I will definitely not skimp on the condiments. All in all it was a fast and easy delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I had friends over for an impromptu game night and decided to try out this recipe. My problem was I didn't want to spend the time to assemble 10 sandwiches. So this became an "assemble your own" party. I made everything separately. I grilled the chicken breasts and basted them with a garlic infused EVOO rather than BBQ sauce. (I put the BBQ sauce on the table as part of the assemble your own.) I cut up green and red peppers and a vidalia onion and grilled them while cooking the chicken. The other addition was that I offered flour tortillas as well as sub rolls. When it was time to eat I had a huge platter set out with all the ingredients and let everyone make their own. It was a big hit. Some observations. No one used the avocado. Almost everyone agreed that they would forgo the BBQ sauce. People were happiest with just the ranch dressing or in several cases, mayo. The grilled onions and peppers went great with this sandwich. And lastly, most people preferred the tortillas over the rolls. It gave the sandwich a much lighter taste. I will definitely make this again. If you do it this way, beware it is a LOT of prep work but once it was done I could enjoy my party along with everyone else instead of being stuck in the kitchen. Thanks Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Made this tonight for myself, it was fantastic. Made a few variations for personal preference; I used potato bread instead of hoagie rolls, I just like the way it toasts up and absorbs all the oils; I cut one large chicken breast in half lengthwise, I thought it was the perfect amount; I'm not really an avocado person so I used tomato istead, it was a nice substitute I think; and I added a little hot sauce to the BBQ when glazing the chicken to give it a little kick. Take what you want leave what you don't. The original recipe is great, I just thought I'd change a few things for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My hubby loved this. I liked it, we'll make it again. I think when I do it again, I'll slice the chicken breasts and layer the slices on the bread - it will make it easier to eat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States