Dan's Favorite Chicken Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe - we made it for dinner and it was very good! The only modifications we made were to use mozzarella rather than Swiss, only because we had it on hand (I imagine it would be even better with Swiss). We cooked the chicken on the Foreman grill and bought fully cooked bacon. Next time I will definitely not skimp on the condiments. All in all it was a fast and easy delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I had friends over for an impromptu game night and decided to try out this recipe. My problem was I didn't want to spend the time to assemble 10 sandwiches. So this became an "assemble your own" party. I made everything separately. I grilled the chicken breasts and basted them with a garlic infused EVOO rather than BBQ sauce. (I put the BBQ sauce on the table as part of the assemble your own.) I cut up green and red peppers and a vidalia onion and grilled them while cooking the chicken. The other addition was that I offered flour tortillas as well as sub rolls. When it was time to eat I had a huge platter set out with all the ingredients and let everyone make their own. It was a big hit. Some observations. No one used the avocado. Almost everyone agreed that they would forgo the BBQ sauce. People were happiest with just the ranch dressing or in several cases, mayo. The grilled onions and peppers went great with this sandwich. And lastly, most people preferred the tortillas over the rolls. It gave the sandwich a much lighter taste. I will definitely make this again. If you do it this way, beware it is a LOT of prep work but once it was done I could enjoy my party along with everyone else instead of being stuck in the kitchen. Thanks Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Made this tonight for myself, it was fantastic. Made a few variations for personal preference; I used potato bread instead of hoagie rolls, I just like the way it toasts up and absorbs all the oils; I cut one large chicken breast in half lengthwise, I thought it was the perfect amount; I'm not really an avocado person so I used tomato istead, it was a nice substitute I think; and I added a little hot sauce to the BBQ when glazing the chicken to give it a little kick. Take what you want leave what you don't. The original recipe is great, I just thought I'd change a few things for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
My hubby loved this. I liked it, we'll make it again. I think when I do it again, I'll slice the chicken breasts and layer the slices on the bread - it will make it easier to eat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Yum yum yum! I cut recipe to make one sandwich. I made this as a melt on dark rye bread. I used my George Foreman grill to cook the chicken and cleaned it off to grill the sandwich. Was really good and filling too. Tasted like a sandwich you'd buy for $8 in a sit-down restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
A 5 star sandwich! I love combination of ranch/bbq sauce together. This sandwich got me a second date with my lady friend, so thank you for your post! PS I also mashed the avocado as previous reviewer noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonesdaddy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This was a wonderful sandwich. I made the following changes: I used less swiss cheese, didn't use avacodo, and added more BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This is a great recipe. I cook for four guys at my house and they ALL loved this! The only change I made was I let each person put on their own condiments. Some use the ranch dressing and some liked more barbecue sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Baisch-Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Awesome. I've made these several times. I had better luck when I mashed the avocado instead of using slices because the slices are so slippery. I made these for a party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States