Dan's Fallin' Apart Pork Pot Roast with Cracked Pepper Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I can't say this very often about my cooking but it was Amazing! Even my boyfriend loved it and he's a little leary of my cooking:) I will definately make it again. I didn't have any marinade so I melted butter and mixed it with a garlic and herb spice mix that I had already. Then I poured some into the holes that I stabbed into the meat. Also, when there's only about a 30 or 40 minutes of cooking time left (w/ a 1.5 lb roast)I start to slice the meat almost all the way through as if I were serving it. It was sitting in 1.5 inches of liquid, including the veggies so I spooned some of that on top after I sliced it. I think slicing the meat helped it cook a littler faster because pork always seems to take forever to cook for some reason.Easy and hopefully healthy but not sure how healthy my home made marinade was. I didn't even use the suggested gravy either, it was already moist and tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this on a snowy sunday afternoon- what an amazing recipe! used mashed potatoes instead- the spices complemented tbe pork which fell apart when sliced- will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
my mother always told me we "didn't like pork roast".....she apparently had not tried this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It's really not fair for me rate this recipe as I had to make several changes due what I had on hand. I am giving 5 stars because by following the technique and overall spice/herb structure I ended up with the best "Grandma food" I've ever had and I am rarely satisfied with anything I make. I always want it too perfect. Thank you for the inspiration, I don't think I'll go back to beef pot roast again! I love heat and was very happy to experience a kick outside of my norm (mexican, thai, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT!! Didn't make it exactly, left out the red pepper flakes and didn't use the injectable marinade, but it was very tender and the veggies soaked up all the juice and were very peppery, flavorful and well-cooked. I would definitely recommend this recipe. It only took me 15 minutes to prep, cooked for 3 1/4 hours (I had a 2.5 lb roast) and it was just fabulous! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
First of all my husband LOVED this!!!!! He never loves anything usually his comments are this is pretty good etc. that means he likes it. His comment on this was Oh My God this is DELICIOUS!!! I really only did 2 things different, neither of them really changed the recipe. First I browned and cooked it in a dutch oven, 1 less pan to wash. And I didn't add the potatoes, I made mashed instead so we could cover them in the gravy. My husband is already asking for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe that's easy to prepare, just takes a little while. I found a Creole injection recipe that worked well and made the meat so very tender and juicy. When I make it again, I may substitute the red pepper with chipotle for a sweeter, smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
A couple precautions .... (1) make sure the pan in which you cook the shallots will hold the roast :) and (2) while I consider myself a more than competent cook, this took considerably more than 30 of prep time. Other than that, my cajun family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was fabulous! All 6 members of my family loved it, even the extremely picky 8 year old. This will be a regular with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe, but if your serving a group that do not prefer spicy dishes, ya might think about leaving out the red pepper flakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States