Danny's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Only because I make this all the time. As for the lack of creaminess many have complained about, while the macaroni is draining, simply had a half cup of whole milk to the pot, with a pat of butter, the grated cheese and allow to come to come to a simmer (no boil), then add the canned stewed tomatoes (you choose your personal favorite flavor) heat on medium then add the macaroni and let heat until heated through. No baking here. No cracker crumbs, no nothing else. It's a side dish at best. Once you start adding other ingredients, like onions, celery, etc., and baking it with cracker crumbs and additional grated cheese, it becomes a long drawn out process. This is designed as a one dish, "hey mom, I can make this in my dorm room" kind of dish. It can be made on a camping trip. STOP mucking it up with additions, another pot or pan, the requirement for an oven, etc. Gosh, way to "not keep it simple" many of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This is a delicious recipe. Easy and fast, too. ***** +
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
I was also raised on this type of mac & cheese. My mother used extra sharp cheddar and "chunked" it instead of shredding. She also added Italian Seasonings and garlic with Italian stewed tomatoes. My children now LOVE this and have become quite adept at making it themselves. We "fight" over the crispy top it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Very good. A bit dry though. I used low fat cheddar and diced tomatoes with 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. I think the flavor will be a bit more intense when using stewed tomatoes. My husband liked it so I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This macaroni & cheese recipe is quite good. I think its more of a mac & cheese "jumble" because the cheese & tomatoes never really mix and they don't coat the macaroni like a sauce, as they do in traditional macaroni & cheese. Still, it's incredibly easy, very economical and truly tasty. My only caveat: you may want to extend the cooking time, 1/2 hour might not be long enough, depending on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMI1Y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Quick and easy? Yes. Good? Not what we had in mind. Very flat taste and dry. Not creamy at all, and did not reheat for leftovers very well. Sorry, NOT impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is sooo yummy! With real cheddar, stewed tomatoes and pasta, what's not to love? It's not a very creamy mac and cheese, but it is very cheesy with a wonderful flavor. I used bow tie pasta instead of elbow macaroni and I kept it covered in the oven to keep the moisture in. It was such a quick and easy recipe - and it came out very well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Love this! Sometimes I bake it and sometimes I just heat it on the stovetop. Tastes great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Oh man, did this bring back memories, just like mom used to make. Have made it several times now, first time added a little basil, and the second time for a change, added a sprinkle of cayenne...yum yum...for both..Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
As other reviewers mentioned, this is not a traditional, creamy mac 'n cheese. Though you could probably make it that way by adding in some cream cheese, etc. Anyway, after reading the other reviews, I added another 4 oz. of cheese (I used 2%, sharp cheddar), the italian style stewed toms, and also threw in a few dashes of garlic salt. YUM! Not gourmet, but cheap, yummy, quick and easy. And definitely family friendly...my 6 year old and 18 mos. old both loved it. Only other tips I would add is make sure to keep and include the juice from the stewed toms (will help with moistness/flavor), and I covered it with foil for the 30 minutes then boosted the heat and took off the foil for an additional five. Turned out wonderfully moist, and just a bit crispy in places on top. Thanks for the easy recipe...definitely a keeper for us! And something fun for the kids to make on their own someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States