Danish Spiced Rye Bread (Sigtebrod) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Dense compact loaf loaded with flavor! I'll be making this often during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I've been baking bread for 40 years, and when I tried this yesterday, Hubby said it was the best bread I ever baked - and that's saying something if I do say so myself! I made a few changes because of Hubby's diabetes - no white flour allowed. Doubled the rye flour, and made up the rest with whole wheat and whole wheat "pastry" flour. Had to add about 1 more cup of flour total, and substituted Splenda for the 1/3 C sugar. But it came out great and didn't taste like "health food" at all! The aroma while it was baking was HEAVENLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this lower sodium and lower carb by salt and sugar substitutes and ground the seeds due to problems with whole seeds.Other than that followed recipe exactly as written. We enjoyed this bread very very much.A must try recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I have been on a quest to find an orange rye like the recipe my late danish grandmother made. This is excellent and close to what I remember. She used make sandwiches with ham, swiss and mustard on it and it was so ono. I made one change suggested by another reviewer because I did not recall whole seeds in my grandma's bread. I ground the seeds and it worked out beautifully. I did have a problem with getting the bread to rise, so I pitched my yeast and next time I will make sure I use fresher yeast. I shared a loaf with my neighbors and they loved it too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Chatzy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just took a picture of the bread I made using this recipes. I don't use bread mashines, so I mixed every thing up by hand, the bread turned out great. Thank you for the great recipes Mange tak (thanks in danish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chatzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is a keeper! I've made this recipe twice and here's my contribution:I used a spice grinder for half the seeds and mortar and pestled the other half. Instead of proofing the yeast in warm water, I used coffee. I mixed a Tablespoon of plain yogurt into the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This bread is unbelievably good! The flavor is off the charts. I couldn't believe I made something this good--it seriously tastes like something you'd order at a bakery. The texture is perfect, and not at all dried out the way whole grain homemade bread sometimes turns out. I don't have a bread machine, so I let it rise 2 hours, separated it into two loaf pans and let it rise another hour. I didn't have the anise or fennel, and I doubled the caraway. I will make this again and again. This is possibly my favorite bread of all time, and I wasn't a fan of rye until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Even though my molasses expired 4 years ago, the bread was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Wonderful alongside vegetable soup. Moist, sturdy, & rises well. After beginning to mix, I realized I did not have caraway OR anise, but the bread still turned out VERY flavorful with the other spices. My two loaves were ready at about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
An excellent Christmas bread;I made two loaves today and plan to make two tomorrow! I substituted fennell for anise (just added 2 Tbsp instead of one) and 1 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon for the cardamom. Yummy! The seeds were an odd texture, so next time I may put them in my food processor to chop them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States