Danish Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I am from denmark and i have not tryed this recipe, but i just want to say that ryebread are normally made in a mould. it is usually so wet a dough that you can knead it. hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This bread is a very good rye bread, and my husband gave the taste a 5, but they don't tell you to add enough flour. I added 2 more cups of all purpose flour, and that still wasn't enough, but I was tired and swollen and cranky (95 degree weather while 8 months pregnant will do that) so I said oh well and threw it on the pan in the best loaf shape i could get it and figured it was a lost cause. If you are going to put the dough in a 9x5 loaf pan ...or 9x7 or what ever size the 9 inch loaf pan is, it will make 2 loafs instead of 1. Anyway, will make this again, but will make sure I add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Excellent rye bread recipe! I added sun flower seeds for that extra crunch. The dough was rather wet, but the baked bread was fine. Keeps for a long time after baking and can be frozen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Excellant bread! Rye dough is supposed to be sticky and hard to handle thats what gives you the right texture. followed the directions with no problems at all. Were Danish and loved this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I just made this for a Danish student visiting the states for a few months and it was a hit. The closest thing to her home bread! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This recipe does notmake any sense whatsoever. Need more direction!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
we love this bread. i use about half the water, and it comes out just great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Ingredient amounts, rising time and cooking time are all totally off on this recipe. Needs more flour, rising time and cooking time. My loaf was soggy, under-risen and undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The bread was delicious! The only thing is I put it on a cook sheet like the recipe said and it ended up being very wide and only about 2 inches high. Next time I'm going to put it in a loaf pan to try and get some height out of it. I did add more flour too as I had a hard time trying to handle it being so sticky. Still, it tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peekie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Interesting way to make a sourdough bread! There was not enough flour in the recipe, this was still a sticky dough when putting it on the baking sheet. It baked up well, though! Great hearty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States